Make Changes to Autocorrect

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by Danicks, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. Danicks

    Danicks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to know how to get into my autocorrect database and just make a few changes. Example I am continually typing te and I want it to change to the. Any info is appreciates. Thanks!
     
  2. acosmichippo

    acosmichippo Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Likes Received:
    1,089
    This can only be done on iOS5. Go to settings>general>keyboard>add shortcut.
     
  3. Danicks

    Danicks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh ok. And how do I know if I'm using iOS5? I'm really new to my iPhone.
     
  4. Danicks

    Danicks New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm obviously not since I don't have that option. Lol. Thanks anyways.
     
  5. acosmichippo

    acosmichippo Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Likes Received:
    1,089
    In that case, you can upgrade to iOS 5 as long as you have a 3GS or iPhone 4. You will probably also have to update to the latest iTunes first.

    first go here: http://www.apple.com/itunes/download/ and install iTunes 10.5.

    then plug in your iPhone, click on it in the left column, and click "update" in the summary tab.
     
  6. Jean

    Jean New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    or you could just reset the keyboard dictionary by settings > general > reset > reset keyboard dictionary
     
  7. verwon

    verwon Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Likes Received:
    121
    That just resets the entire dictionary, it doesn't make the changes the OP was asking about.


    Sent from my iOS ecosystem!
     
  8. Rugaby

    Rugaby Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    It will help. If the op has typed te a thousand times the phone has learned and thinks it is a word and the intended word. Resetting the dictionary will start you back at zero and the te will be corrected to the.
     

Share This Page