Media Studies Project - Apple Advertising

AndyWil...

Jun 2, 2008
Hey im not quite sure if this corresponds with the regulations of the site but I'll continue anyway.
I'm a media studies student studying in Cumbria, UK. For my critical research project I am to investigate Apple's advertising campaigns after 1997. Among these campaigns is Apple's iPhone.

For my primary investigation task I have to include responses from a consumer point of view by means of questionnaires. So i thought what better place to ask than a forum dedicated to the product..

I'll kick start this off then and I hope you can take part, if not, no bother, thanks for your attention anyway ;)

Here is an example of one of the iPhone adverts: http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=IzPB6IyWIvE
I'm sure you've all seen them before! ;)

• Did the iPhone advertisements persuade you to buy your iPhone?
  • What was the biggest selling point in the adverts for you (if any)?
  • From watching the Apple iPhone adverts did you feel the iPhone was a businesss or personal use or both? Why? Which appeals to you?
  • Did you feel the functionality of the phone was positively demonstrated in the adverts?
  • Did you think the simplicity of the adverts is reflected in the actual product?
  • What did you think about the black background of the adverts opposed to the white backdrops in the 'Switch', 'Get a Mac' and Macbook Air advertising campaigns?
  • Did you feel the music best fitted the characteristics of the advert?
  • Did you find the adverts patronizing or too naive?
  • What age range of audience do you think the adverts were aimed towards?
  • Do you think the Apple would have created a better market for the iPhone if they had used graphical manipulation and special effects (instead of clear and simple demonstrations) to enhance the quality of the iPhone in the adverts?