Mobile Me Vs. GMail

Voltaic Shock

Bronze
Aug 15, 2008
Leesburg, VA
Mobile Me will allow me to add my pop accounts, and so will GMail, but GMail is free compared to Mobile Me.

I was wondering why not just use GMail for push mail?

PepeRB29

Mar 21, 2008
8 mile
i use gmail and i get instant push email to my iPhone. i have tested it out and it works perfectly. check out this thread that i talked about it.
imo mobilme is a waste, but i'm just a college student so what would i know.

Last edited by a moderator:
Jun 23, 2008
Honolulu, Hawaii
I think Pepe is the exception in this. Gmail is not supposed to push, at least not yet. Good for Pepe though.

Mobile Me is more than just push e-mail. It also pushes your contacts and calendars WIRELESSLY. You also get a photo gallery for uploading and 20GB of storage. All for $99/year.

For some, it's worth it. But, not for me. I don't need push that badly and I don't need the other stuff as well.

I'm sticking with Gmail at least until Yahoo has better push e-mail.

Voltaic Shock

Bronze
Aug 15, 2008
Leesburg, VA
I think I will stick with GMail as well. I run a few websites so I can just put my files up there.

The only thing I don't like about GMail is how it reads your e-mails for the ads, which I never click on or pay attention too.

I also hear Mobile Me doesn't use encryption on their web client - :\

3Guser

Bronze
Jul 3, 2008
I am on AOL and use thunderbird as my email client on the laptop. While I don't have push for email on my iPhone but it is still pretty quick I get my calendar synced instantly from thunderbird to my iPhone 3G and vice versa within a second wirelessly for free. It rocks. I agree mobileme is not worth the price....at the current moment. Still waiting on push for AOL email.

Voltaic Shock

Bronze
Aug 15, 2008
Leesburg, VA