My Vibrator May Be on the Fritz

Discussion in 'iPhone 6S' started by Rafagon, Aug 8, 2016.

1. Rafagon

Rafagon Genius
    Gold

I almost never use the vibration feature on my iPhone. I really have very little need for it; I’m rarely in a situation where a phone call ringing or an incoming text sound would bother anyone.

Since I started playing Pokémon GO, I realized that under its Settings screen there’s a Vibration option. Figuring it would be helpful to get a vibration when I was out and about, wasn’t looking at the screen, and encountered a wild Pokémon, I toggled this option to on:

IMG_2149.PNG

However, after several days of playing, I realized I hadn’t felt any vibrations, regardless of the number of Pokémon I encountered.

I started wondering if my vibrator was broken.

I went into Settings > Sounds and under the heading “SOUNDS AND VIBRATION PATTERNS” I tapped on Ringtone > Vibration. I tried many or possibly all of the different standard vibration patterns, such as Accent (Default), Alert, Heartbeat, Quick, Rapid, etc. Not a single one of them made my phone vibrate.

Is there anything I could do to run a diagnostic and see if my vibrator is in fact broken? Also, if it is indeed broken, could I take it to an Apple Store to get it fixed (i.e. get a refurb)? I received this iPhone 6s Plus on September 29th, 2016. Will they help me, since it’s been less than a year since I purchased it? Or do they only replace damaged phones if it’s been under 90 days since the date of purchase?

I have not tried General > Reset > Reset All Settings, since I have a bad feeling that wouldn’t fix the issue, and doing that comes with a bit of work to get everything back to how I like it. Should I try it? Does anyone think it would help?

All help appreciated. :)

2. Napoleon PhoneApart

Senior Moderator

Calling Apple would be a good first step.

• Informative Informative x 1
    • List
  3. liberated

liberated Genius
    Gold