Need help with a camera.

Nov 14, 2008
Cairo, Egypt.
Last night I purchased a camera for my sister. She wanted one for a long time and I decided it's time to get her one since she's going on a trip to Europe very soon.

I got her one of those cheap cameras (around $180 bucks) that are between compact and DSLR cameras. I believe they're called Semi-Professional or something.

Anyway, the model is Fujifilm FinePix S2950.

Those are the specifications:
•14 Megapixel Resolution
•18x Zoom W/Wide-Angle 28-504mm Lens
•Large 3" LCD, at 230K Resolution
•Stunning Panoramic Shots
•720p HD Movie Capture
•Smile and Blink Detection
•Dual Image Stabilization
•High Sensitivity ISO 6400
•Easy Upload Facebook and YouTube Feature
•Tracking Auto Focus (AF)
•Full Manual Controls

I do not know what the best settings for the camera would be in different lighting conditions, and I have no previous experience of photography or anything, but I cannot decide on whether the pictures I took using it this morning are actually decent or not. I'm not looking for "great quality", but just a decent one that was worth paying 180 bucks for.

Those are the pictures:

http://img4.imageshack.us/img4/5973/dscf0028aq.jpg
http://a.yfrog.com/img585/9922/dscf0024rw.jpg

Please tell me what you think and whether you have any suggestions. Thanks!

EDIT: The second picture is at 18x zoom, and the first one is at about 8x I think. Not too sure about the first one! I must say, though, it takes decent pictures on such a high level of zoom, that's for sure.

Apple iAddicted

Contributor
Bronze
Feb 20, 2012
I have several cameras old school 35mm SLRs few "throwaway" digitals and my Kodak which is like the Camera you got they call them "fixed lens DSLR" it has most of the features of a DSLR but you can't change lenses.