Network connection issues at setup! Help?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by MNJON, Oct 14, 2011.

  1. MNJON

    MNJON Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Likes Received:
    9
    Wow, this hurts! The new phone is cool... and I was able to activate it and even play with Siri (don't tell my wife)... but, it is not connecting to my wi-fi. It waid the password was not correct so I took the option to continue setup without wifi on. Once all was done and I restored with iTunes.... it will not connect to my network no matter what I try. It wont let me try the password again either.

    I tried several passwords before I gave up when setting up, and now when it's all running, it wont show a password option!

    Crap, when I put iOS5 on my wife's phone the other day, it didn't ask for the password even! I have not used a password since setting this dang NetGeat WiFi up about 2 years ago. I have no idea what the WEP or whatever security would even be....

    Anyone know how I can get into my netgear setup stuff even?

    Ugh..... what a let-down.
     
  2. imamac

    imamac Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Likes Received:
    16
    You can try to look around in your Router setup page ... try entering either 192.168.1.1 or 192.168.0.1 as a web address and one of them should take you to your router info. From there you may need to login - usually as admin, password admin or password. Some routers give you a place there to change your WEP password.

    You may want to re-set your router, too. There's sometimes a little hole where you can push the end of a pen or paperclip to reset it. You'd have to reconfigure your computer's access, too, if you go that route.
     
  3. BrownGem

    BrownGem Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2009
    Likes Received:
    22
    I had this problem with my iPad2 which I just got yesterday. I typed that long number soo many times. I had activated the iPad and restored from a backup at first. I wiped the iPad and restored as new device. Wifi connected on the first try after the restore.
     
  4. MNJON

    MNJON Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Likes Received:
    9
    What a pain! OK.. well, I did go and reset the router and started over... not as bad as it could have been! Now I better be wise(r) and write down the password! ha ha

    Love my 4s!
     
  5. imamac

    imamac Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Likes Received:
    16
    Glad it worked!
     
  6. MNJON

    MNJON Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2007
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks! I'm much happoer now! ha ha
     

Share This Page