Networking hard drive.

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by jerni, Jan 8, 2012.

  1. jerni

    jerni Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'm looking to get a new external harddrive. I have a WD portable that I store media on and another WD portable that I do Time Machine on. Well the other day I dropped my media drive and now it's been damaged and is "read-only". And my time machine harddrive has a lose plug or cable that sometimes improperly ejects.

    The question is what direction should I go time capsule or is there another brand that someone recommends? I want to be able to back up 2 MacBooks and have wireless access to the files on my PS3 or 360.
     
  2. iphonewarrior

    iphonewarrior Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    701
    Networking? I'm confused, do you want a HD that will appear on your network; visible to all computers on said network?
     
  3. RoofMonkey

    RoofMonkey Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,021
    You should be able to share the drive on your network without any problems. I just got a new net gear router that has a USB port to hook up a shared drive too. So that could be another option for you.
     
  4. iphonewarrior

    iphonewarrior Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    701
    That's one thing I wish my router had :(

    I use my servers HD as a network drive for FTP/smb etc. Does the job but it'd still be nice to have a true network drive.
     
  5. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    I've used a NAS at home for years. Get centralized/RAID peace of mind without running 400+ Watts 24/7. :)

    Sent from my mobilephone using Tapatalk
     
  6. jerni

    jerni Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for your quick replies. It posted before I finished.
     
  7. jerni

    jerni Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Likes Received:
    2
    Will I need to create partitions to back up two MacBooks to the same HD?
     
  8. iphonewarrior

    iphonewarrior Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    701
    For Time Machine?
     
  9. jerni

    jerni Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Likes Received:
    2

    yes. My husband currently doesn't backup so I'm trying to find the easiest way for us to both do that
     
  10. Tinman

    Tinman Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Likes Received:
    183
    Well first make sure the NAS is Time Machine compatible.

    While you can store other data on a TM drive I wouldn't do it. I would rather decide how much to allocate to TM and create a partition of that size dedicated to TM. You can make more than one if using more than one mac.



    Michael
     
  11. iphonewarrior

    iphonewarrior Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    701
    What Tinman said :)
     
  12. jerni

    jerni Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Likes Received:
    2
    What's NAS? so the thing about the Time Capsule is it doubles as router?
     
  13. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,432
    Network-attached storage.
     
  14. t65g

    t65g New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently purchased a MacBook, and have an existing PC, router and WD Network HDD. I cannot see this Network drive on the Mac? I loaded VMWare and Windows, and can see the drive through Windows. How can I use this directly from the Mac, or do I need to get a separate drive that is Mac specific?
     
  15. iP5

    iP5 Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Likes Received:
    138
    Been a while since I've used a Mac but I think you have to have Windows Shares or Samba Shares support enabled. I think it's in SYSTEM | PREFERENCES | NETWORKING. Someone with a Mac please correct me.
     

Share This Page