New upgrade wiped my iPhone!

TMass518

New Member
Bronze
Jun 16, 2009
44
0
0
#1
Beware; the new upgrade wiped my iPhone and I'm doing a restore right now.....
 

psylichon

Genius
Moderator
Oct 31, 2007
16,591
751
113
41
Philly
#2
How did you update? There's several ways to do it... some will wipe your phone...
 

fury

Evangelist
Gold
Oct 23, 2007
2,274
238
63
33
Louisville, KY
#3
Software updates generally install as if you did a restore. Following booting up with the new software, the first sync is supposed to put your data and media back on.
 

TMass518

New Member
Bronze
Jun 16, 2009
44
0
0
#4
Updated via iTunes and it is doing the restore as we speak.....I hope you are right.
 

TMass518

New Member
Bronze
Jun 16, 2009
44
0
0
#5
Ok...it wiped everything.apps, Music, Photos. I have to go and manually put them all back on.....way to go Apple!:035:eek:nfire
 

TMass518

New Member
Bronze
Jun 16, 2009
44
0
0
#6
So now I have to repurchase all the apps?
 

TMass518

New Member
Bronze
Jun 16, 2009
44
0
0
#8
Well its acting like I have to repurchase the apps
 

iphun

Zealot
Gold
Mar 16, 2009
1,967
0
36
PA
#9
Well its acting like I have to repurchase the apps
How is it acting exactly? As long as you are signed into the account you made the purchases on just click buy app and it will pop up asking if you want to purchase it again for free. It will ask you the same thing on the iPhone and on iTunes on the computer. If you want to test it just 'repurchase' a free app that you had before and it should ask you the same question.
 

TMass518

New Member
Bronze
Jun 16, 2009
44
0
0
#10
Yeah it did that once when i removed an app and then decided to put it back. Its not doing that now, it just saying purchase.......I'm scr###d!
 

fury

Evangelist
Gold
Oct 23, 2007
2,274
238
63
33
Louisville, KY
#11
The apps aren't already in your iTunes library on the computer? What shows up in the Applications tab of the iPhone page?
 

iphun

Zealot
Gold
Mar 16, 2009
1,967
0
36
PA
#12
Yeah it did that once when i removed an app and then decided to put it back. Its not doing that now, it just saying purchase.......I'm scr###d!
None of the apps were ever synced or backed up to the computer? As long as you are signed into the same account then it should let you repurchase for free. Did you try on both the computer and on the iPhone?
 

TMass518

New Member
Bronze
Jun 16, 2009
44
0
0
#13
They were synchd but there is nothing there now.....I'll try it via the computer
 

Swagger

New Member
Gold
Jul 9, 2007
2,076
1
0
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
web.me.com
#14
@The OP,
Calm down and think clearly. You are not screwed nor have to repurchase Apps. You can either redownload the Apps for free on your phone or download them into iTunes for free. You apparently bypassed the back up before you installed the update. Mark
 

iphun

Zealot
Gold
Mar 16, 2009
1,967
0
36
PA
#15
Are you on 3.0? And did you restore from backup?
 

TMass518

New Member
Bronze
Jun 16, 2009
44
0
0
#16
I was on 3.0 updated to 3.01 and I did back up and restore before I updated.