Newbie here - have only one main issue

Jul 30, 2008
Hi everyone - I've been lurking here for several weeks in anticipation of the launch of the iPhone 3G, gathering info and learning from the experts here. Bought my 16GB white baby on 7/12 and after a few hours of waiting and a few more hours of headaches with AT&T, I've been a very happy camper ever since. I'm a long-time user of various so-called smartphones, mose recently Windows Mobile based... used to be with AT&T/Cingular, but most recently was with Sprint... am actually very happy to be back with AT&T. Am LOVING almost everything about my new iPhone!

Sure, there's things I could do as a power user of a Windows Mobile device that I can't do with the iPhone, but everything else about the iPhone makes up for it.

The one issue I have, and it's a pretty big one, is that there's no way to block specific incoming numbers from calling me. Most cell phones have a way to do this to at least route them directly to voicemail, and there's several apps for many phones that you can download even more customizable ways to deal with such calls. But for the amazing iPhone? Nothing! I was stunned to find this out! After much research I found a couple of paid foreign 3rd party apps for jailbroken v1 iPhones, but that's it.

Until there's a solution, does anyone know how I can make or find a silent ringtone for my iPhone? Someone on the Apple board told me how to make one in Garage Band and load it through iTunes, but that didn't help me since I don't have Garage Band (yet)... I'm still stuck in PC land for the time being.

Thanks in advance for any advice! :laugh2:

Tex

Silver
Jul 15, 2008
Philly
I would think, if youhave GarageBand, there would be a way to make a silent ring tone.....Or even through iTunes if you know of a song that has a 30 second gap in the song that you can select as a ring tone.

Anyone have experience with this?

smknSRT8

Zealot
Gold
Oct 13, 2007