Nike+iPod. Why?

Discussion in 'iPhone 5S' started by flatbacks21, Jan 25, 2014.

  1. flatbacks21

    flatbacks21 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    9
    Why does the iPhone 5s come with the Nike +ipod app? It is stupid to think that such a finely tuned device would come with such a disappointing app. You shouldn't have to purchase a "sensor" in order for this app to work; that's ridiculous. Map my run doesn't need a sensor. Why waste the space with an app that's inferior? Doesn't make sense.
     
  2. liberated

    liberated Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    470
    I have over 700 miles logged in the nike running+ app. I did not have to buy a sensor and love the app. There are people yah prefer to buy sneakers and sensors, you are free to have your own opinion. I respectfully disagree with it though.
     
  3. flatbacks21

    flatbacks21 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    9
    I am not suggesting the "sensor" app is better.. What I am disappointed with is the fact that I would need to buy a sensor to use the integrated app that comes installed on the iPhone.. You shouldn't have to download anything from the App Store.. That's the point I'm trying to make..
     
  4. Ledsteplin

    Ledsteplin Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Likes Received:
    942
    The sensor is included on my phone. It says to walk around to activate it. Nothing to download.
     
  5. flatbacks21

    flatbacks21 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    9
    On the preloaded app or the app downloaded from the App Store?
     
  6. Ledsteplin

    Ledsteplin Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Likes Received:
    942
    The one in my settings.
     
  7. Ledsteplin

    Ledsteplin Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Likes Received:
    942
    Preloaded.
    ImageUploadedByiCafe Forums1390682470.077375.jpg
     
  8. flatbacks21

    flatbacks21 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    9
    Mine is not calibrating.. Not sure why..
     
  9. Njshoremom4gurlz

    Njshoremom4gurlz Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2011
    Likes Received:
    84
    Love the app great for walking w my friend!


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. rambo47

    rambo47 Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    79
    The Nike sensor came out before phones had some of those capabilities built in. There are lots of fitness apps that will track your run/walk without a separate sensor but the Nike+ deal adds capabilities many of these stand alone programs do not have. For a long time accuracy was best with Nike+ and the sensor.

    The bottom line is that Apple integrated Nike+ as a co-marketing deal. You're free to use a non-Nike solution to track your runs so if you don't like the Nike+ solution, try something else. IMHO, this is all much ado about nothing.
     
  11. flatbacks21

    flatbacks21 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    9
    It is about nothing.. I just wanted to know if the standard, integrated Nike+ app that comes on the iPhone 5s can be used without an additional sensor... That's all.. I currently use mapmyrun b/c I wasn't able to calibrate my Nike+ app.. So that's all.. I am indifferent on the app itself since I haven't used it.
     
  12. Merthod

    Merthod New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    So you though they wanted to upsell you. At the beginning you needed the sensor in the shoe but now you don't. However Nike is probably paying Apple to prebundle the app.
     
  13. iByron

    iByron Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Likes Received:
    13
    yes I tried to calibrate sensor and it never activated in my 5s....I'd love to use it!
     
  14. Ledsteplin

    Ledsteplin Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Likes Received:
    942
    Don't you have to walk or run about a mile for it to activate? :)
     

Share This Page