Odd Cydia Issue with Evasi0n

Discussion in 'iPhone Jailbreak' started by flightmedic, Feb 18, 2013.

  1. flightmedic

    flightmedic Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Likes Received:
    23
    Been JB since day 1, just saw this error today. Not sure what it means or how to fix it. My package list is gone and settings/packages is empty as well, so I can't delete or modify any packages. Also running Evasi0n on my iPad 3 with no problems. Thanks in advance.
    IMG_1949.PNG IMG_1948.PNG
     
  2. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    The easiest fix is to restore and rejailbreak. You can use your iTunes/iCloud backup.
     
  3. flightmedic

    flightmedic Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Likes Received:
    23
    Thank you. Any idea what caused the error?
     
  4. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
  5. ZR_Yancy

    ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    737
    Did you delete your sources with iCleaner?
     
  6. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    Is that really one of the options? Yeesh. That app is dangerous, especially for those who don't really understand the file system, etc.
     
  7. ZR_Yancy

    ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    737
    Yup, but it's disabled by default and when it's enabled, it provides a pop up warning.

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361196292.838666.jpg
     
  8. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    Wow. I didn't know it had a toggle to wipe Cydia. I just don't understand why people use this app in the first place. Is temporarily freeing 500 MB really worth it? A lot of it will go right back on there as soon as you use the phone. For example, it clears your cache and settings, but you'll just build a new one and have to put your settings back in and then the freed up space is gone. Why not just truly free up some space by removing a movie or something?
     
  9. flightmedic

    flightmedic Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Likes Received:
    23
    I don't have iCleaner on my iPhone 5.

    Thanks, Europa. Gonna try to reinstall Cydia.
     
  10. flightmedic

    flightmedic Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Likes Received:
    23
    Thanks for the advice Europa. Would not allow me to reinstall Cydia. Got the same error. I'm going to restore and re-JB.

    I wish I could figure out what was wrong with it though...
     
  11. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,531
    I think I had to restore and rejailbreak once because of a jailbreak glitch, so I feel ya, brother.
     
  12. flightmedic

    flightmedic Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Likes Received:
    23
    Well. I restored via iTunes and then tried to restore via PkgBackup. Same error. Going to individually install my packages and see how it goes. I've not installed any new packages in the past 5 days and this started yesterday. Also, I do not have any warez/cracked repos that I use either.

    Jim
     
  13. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    So how did it go when you didn't use PkgBackup?
     
  14. flightmedic

    flightmedic Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Likes Received:
    23
    It worked OK. I did not install as many packages and been running OK. Going to update to 6.1.2 and then re-JB. Going to try PkgBackup first and see if the error reproduces itself. If so no big loss, I know it's the backup I'm using.

    Jim
     
  15. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,531
    I know it sounds a bit tedious, but before I restore I like to manually save my app data to my hard drive. Then I restore as new, jailbreak, and copy the app data back over.
     

Share This Page