Odd Cydia Issue with Evasi0n

flightmedic

Member
Bronze
Jun 21, 2009
397
23
18
Wichita Falls, Texas
#1
Been JB since day 1, just saw this error today. Not sure what it means or how to fix it. My package list is gone and settings/packages is empty as well, so I can't delete or modify any packages. Also running Evasi0n on my iPad 3 with no problems. Thanks in advance.
IMG_1949.PNG
IMG_1948.PNG
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#2
The easiest fix is to restore and rejailbreak. You can use your iTunes/iCloud backup.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#6
Did you delete your sources with iCleaner?
Is that really one of the options? Yeesh. That app is dangerous, especially for those who don't really understand the file system, etc.
 

ZR_Yancy

Genius
Gold
Jul 11, 2008
3,982
737
113
Florida
#7
Is that really one of the options? Yeesh. That app is dangerous, especially for those who don't really understand the file system, etc.
Yup, but it's disabled by default and when it's enabled, it provides a pop up warning.

ImageUploadedByTapatalk1361196292.838666.jpg
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#8
Yup, but it's disabled by default and the when it's enabled, it provides a pop up warning.

View attachment 28173
Wow. I didn't know it had a toggle to wipe Cydia. I just don't understand why people use this app in the first place. Is temporarily freeing 500 MB really worth it? A lot of it will go right back on there as soon as you use the phone. For example, it clears your cache and settings, but you'll just build a new one and have to put your settings back in and then the freed up space is gone. Why not just truly free up some space by removing a movie or something?
 

flightmedic

Member
Bronze
Jun 21, 2009
397
23
18
Wichita Falls, Texas
#10
Thanks for the advice Europa. Would not allow me to reinstall Cydia. Got the same error. I'm going to restore and re-JB.

I wish I could figure out what was wrong with it though...
 
Jun 19, 2007
33,493
4,550
113
Upper Marlboro, MD
#11
Thanks for the advice Europa. Would not allow me to reinstall Cydia. Got the same error. I'm going to restore and re-JB.

I wish I could figure out what was wrong with it though...
I think I had to restore and rejailbreak once because of a jailbreak glitch, so I feel ya, brother.
 

flightmedic

Member
Bronze
Jun 21, 2009
397
23
18
Wichita Falls, Texas
#12
Well. I restored via iTunes and then tried to restore via PkgBackup. Same error. Going to individually install my packages and see how it goes. I've not installed any new packages in the past 5 days and this started yesterday. Also, I do not have any warez/cracked repos that I use either.

Jim
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#13
So how did it go when you didn't use PkgBackup?
 

flightmedic

Member
Bronze
Jun 21, 2009
397
23
18
Wichita Falls, Texas
#14
It worked OK. I did not install as many packages and been running OK. Going to update to 6.1.2 and then re-JB. Going to try PkgBackup first and see if the error reproduces itself. If so no big loss, I know it's the backup I'm using.

Jim
 
Jun 19, 2007
33,493
4,550
113
Upper Marlboro, MD
#15
I know it sounds a bit tedious, but before I restore I like to manually save my app data to my hard drive. Then I restore as new, jailbreak, and copy the app data back over.