One question I haven't seen answered

J-Man

New Member
Jul 19, 2007
17
0
0
Boston, MA
#1
So I get the new version of iFantastic and I make all the changes that I need and want. 2 weeks from now Apple has a new and "good" upgrade. I choose to upgrade. Do I loose all the work that I did to mod the phone? If so is there a way to save the setup I had and then go back to it after I do the upgrade?
 

rinual

New Member
Bronze
Jul 18, 2007
49
0
0
#2
if you haven't seen the answer to this question, you haven't ever modded your phone pre-patch

When a update is released, you most restore your iPhone, wiping all saved information on there.

Everything besides your mod is able to be backed up, however, the modifications can not be.

Therefore, the way to save the most time, is to keep the files you want on your phone, ie. the applications and roms, and just redo the procedure. I wipe and mod phones daily and it doesn't take me anything longer than 5 minutes to get up and running playing Super Mario Bros.


hope this helps.
 

J-Man

New Member
Jul 19, 2007
17
0
0
Boston, MA
#3
Thanks, but

First off let me thank you for your reply. Here's the but and why I asked the question in the first place. I did mod my phone when iFuntastic came out. The first upgrade (Or you might be calling it patch, if not then I don't know what you mean by pre-patch) came out I did it and it forced a reset. When all was done and I did a sync to get my stuff back I lost all the favorites on the phone side lost all my notes (30 in all) and several other small but annoying things. So the only mods I did after that where some ring tones. Along came upgrade number 2 and I went ahead and did that one. Apple forced a reset did the upgrade I went back to sync and this time everything came back even 1 note that I put in as a test. So I'm a little leery of doing a major mod using iFuntastic 3.
I am not an expert as you seem to be but I do get around on computers pretty well and I follow directions really well. So what I think you are telling me is this
1) Do a sync of your phone with iTunes.
2) Do a reset on your own (not the forced one that the upgrade software is doing)
3) Do the upgrade.
4) Sync the phone. All of the mods that I have made should come back.

Is that it?
ANd Thanks again.