Otterbox case for the new iPad

Discussion in 'iPad' started by FFAP1234, Mar 10, 2012.

1. FFAP1234

FFAP1234 Member
    Bronze

Hi everybody I'm new in the iPad forum ( not I the iPhone ) I just wanted to ask if anybody knows the otterbox case for the iPad 2 will fit the new one? If yes I would like to order it before my new iPad arrives : ) thank you all.

2. RoofMonkey

RoofMonkey Genius
    Gold

I looked at Otterbox's page and they are advertising the Defender for the new iPad and iPad 2 as one unit.
    99.9% sure it will fit.
    New iPad is only .5mm thicker.

3. FFAP1234

FFAP1234 Member
    Bronze

That is what I thought too, thank you very much!

4. Hinezy

Hinezy Contributor
    Silver

My question is, will the polycarbonate snap on cases for the iPad 2 work with the new iPad?

Sent from my 32Gb iPhone 4S using iCafe app

5. RoofMonkey

RoofMonkey Genius
    Gold

6. mbairguy

mbairguy Contributor
    Bronze

Yes. The website first stated that the defender case would fit both ipads; shortly after, the page design completely changed to feature the new ipad. The new PN: APL2-IPADD-20-E40TR_A, hasn't yet shown up at Amazon.

I have also taken interest in the Gumdrop Military case (avail. Mar.28). Three (now) ipads with ob defender cases in "one" household will create issues. Imagine this scenario...wife says "OK, whose ipad is this...is it mine?.." Then, I say "turn it on and if you are blown away by the stunning display then no, it is not yours.."

7. Slims even

Slims even New Member

You should give the otterbox a comparison with gumdrop - drop series / military version first. Dust filters all around and a inner and outer shell with screen protection. Best $69 I ever spent. March 28 they sell ipad3 versions.
    Also Griffin survivor case is right up there with gumdrop. Otterbox is way under biult . No screen protection either. Overpriced to for how light it is. Griffin is strong as is gumdrop. The two best.

8. mbairguy

mbairguy Contributor
    Bronze