Phone says "no SIM card"

Discussion in 'iPhone 4' started by Nur2652, Nov 1, 2011.

  1. Nur2652

    Nur2652 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    The past week or so it's happened about 3 or 4 times, phone doesn't work and say No SIM. I power phone off the back on at it's back to normal. Is this a sigh of trouble ahead? Thanks.
     
  2. RoofMonkey

    RoofMonkey Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2,014
    Which device? There is a user here that was having the same issue. Happened on 3 or 4 of her phones that were replacements I think. Apparently was an issue with the serial number being entered incorrectly by her carrier, I think.
     
  3. iphonewarrior

    iphonewarrior Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    701
    Remove the SIM and SIM tray, and blow into the SIM port. Clear all debris from the SIM port, this may help? Compressed air usually does the trick for me.
     
  4. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,430
    My iPhone 4 did that twice in the first week that I owned it (it was brand new so I don't think it was dust). It did it once again about twelve months later. I never figured out what caused it. I just reseated my SIM each time it did it and it then it was fine.
     
  5. Beemer

    Beemer Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Likes Received:
    4
    Take the sim card out and use a small eraser to rub the gold contacts. Put it back in and I bet you won't have any further issues.
     
  6. iphonewarrior

    iphonewarrior Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    701
    An alcohol wipe works well. (y)
     
  7. Nur2652

    Nur2652 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's on my iPhone 4, just downloaded iOS 5 last week. But the no sim had happened even before I had ios 5.
     
  8. iphonewarrior

    iphonewarrior Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    701
    Mmm, strange. If you've cleaned the SIM and the SIM port you could always try a restore. When/if you restore set the phone up as new.
     
  9. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,430
    I'd try a new SIM card before resorting to restoring. AT&T will send you a free one with two day shipping (if that's your carrier).
     
  10. iphonewarrior

    iphonewarrior Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    701
    Makes no difference if you restore now or after a new SIM, if the OP were to do it now at least they wouldn't be waiting a couple of days for a new SIM when it could be fixed by a simple restore. It probably isn't software related but it's just another option.
     
  11. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,430
    He may not need to restore, though. It's only happening a few times a week and he can have a new SIM in two days. It's worth a shot, IMO. I just like to start with the simplest troubleshooting steps first and leave restoring to factory settings for a last resort.
     
  12. Misie

    Misie Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2
    This happened to my hubby on the iPhone 4 first one we got on release day. We tried changing sim card, but had to bring it in to an Apple store. It ended up being a hardware problem. They were good a changing it out. Actually had to change his phone out a total of 4 times in 2 mths. and the 5th time was finally a winner. All were hardware problems.
     

Share This Page