Photo help needed. Every time I sync the old photos get deleted

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Sign up

slipperypete

New Member
Bronze
May 20, 2007
205
0
0
#1
Every time I sync my phone it adds my new photos but deletes the ones that were already on my iPhone. Any way to change this?
 

slipperypete

New Member
Bronze
May 20, 2007
205
0
0
#4
Are you talking about the "camera roll" photos, or photos from other folders or both?
The photo library pics. Basically, every time I sync my iPhone it loads my last roll(that is my setting) and replaces my photo library with my current roll. The photo library and last roll always end up the same
 

Tinman

Evangelist
Gold
Jul 16, 2007
4,334
183
63
Aridzona
#6
The photo library pics. Basically, every time I sync my iPhone it loads my last roll(that is my setting) and replaces my photo library with my current roll. The photo library and last roll always end up the same
I don't know what you mean by "roll" as the only thing called that on my iPhone is the Camera Roll. Everything else in Photos is synced folders.

And if you only have one folder set to sync it really doesn't matter what is on your iPhone, it will be replaced by what is in your synced folder on your computer. Delete a photo from the folder and after the next sync it will be gone from your iPhone.

This is by-design so I am not sure what your issue is.


-- Mike
 

slipperypete

New Member
Bronze
May 20, 2007
205
0
0
#7
I don't know what you mean by "roll" as the only thing called that on my iPhone is the Camera Roll. Everything else in Photos is synced folders.

And if you only have one folder set to sync it really doesn't matter what is on your iPhone, it will be replaced by what is in your synced folder on your computer. Delete a photo from the folder and after the next sync it will be gone from your iPhone.

This is by-design so I am not sure what your issue is.


-- Mike
Ok, I have 3 things when I click on Photo Albums:

1) Camera Roll
2) Photo Library
3) Last Roll-(folder)-This is the folder I have chosen to sync with my iPhone. It is basically the most recent "roll" of photos I have taken and loaded to iPhoto.

Not sure why Apple would design it that way. Makes no real sense. There is no way for me load new photos onto my iPhone without deleting the old ones?
 

The Apple

Zealot
Gold
Aug 2, 2007
3,105
0
38
Indiana
#8
I created a folder in my computer for the camera roll pictures i wanted to save. My pics stay in the phone until I remove them, although some pics are on the phone more than once. (pictures in camera roll had been saved to a folder that syncs to the phone) (and all the pictures on the phone are in photo library) I have 1048 pics in that photo library folder, and they come from 19 folders and the camera roll. I probably cannot be of any assistance though because I have never use iPhoto, and it sounds like some sort of setting issue with iPhoto.