PKGBackup data doesn't exist?

  1. snowtrooper1966

    snowtrooper1966 Genius Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,133
    Weird...
    Been using this for over a year.
    Went to do my regular backup since I was going to connect to iTunes, and I get this error message:

    But then selecting the Yes button above, get this:

    Clearly showing previous backup data....
    WTH?
    Didn't want to select one of the old ones to backup to (say the 2011-07-14 @ 12:58:06) if one part of the app says there are no backups, but another is.
     
    #1
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 2, 2013
  2. Europa

    Europa Genius Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    3,613
    Have you tried reinstalling the app and then syncing with iTunes?
     
    #2
  3. Avatar

    Sponsored Advertisement

  4. snowtrooper1966

    snowtrooper1966 Genius Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,133
    Ahh, u take such good care of us Europa!
    Am I tripping, or does it seem PKGBackup is corrupt?
    I prefer to backup before connecting to iTunes, in case I get a JB crash/lockup.
    Should I just try reinstalling through Cydia?
     
    #3
  5. Kadelic

    Kadelic Genius Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    Are you backing up to contacts or to dropbox?
    Edit: nevermind, I see that it's to contacts.
     
    #4
  6. snowtrooper1966

    snowtrooper1966 Genius Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,133
    Not using dropbox....
    I thought the latest incarnation(s) of PKGBackup no longer backed up to contacts.
    When I first started using it 18 months ago, it would generate a new contact link.
    The past 8 months, just tells me to connect to iTunes to save the backup, IIRC.
     
    #5
  7. Kadelic

    Kadelic Genius Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    The current version still offers the option to backup either to addressbook or dropbox. Having experienced problems with corrupted addressbook data in the past, I switched to dropbox and have had no troubles backing up or restoring. I recommend using dropbox.
     
    #6
  8. snowtrooper1966

    snowtrooper1966 Genius Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,133
    I tried dropbox. Was having issues, Can't remember specifics, as it was many moons ago....
     
    #7
  9. snowtrooper1966

    snowtrooper1966 Genius Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,133
    Still having same problem.
    Will try uninstalling, sync w/iTunes and reinstall.
    Hope I don't lose past backups....
     
    #8
  10. snowtrooper1966

    snowtrooper1966 Genius Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,133
    I'm lost.
    Tried as Europa suggested.
    Even reinstalled dropbox and switched that on in PKGBackup, no luck.
    No matter what I do, app is not seeing Cydia packages.
    Here's a few screenies of the "available backups" page, accessed through the prompt saying there is no backup data:


    Clearly showing 2 backups with multiple dates....
     
    #9
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 2, 2013
  11. flightmedic

    flightmedic Member Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2009
    Likes Received:
    19
    I had this same issue.

    Make sure that you have scan at startup checked. That fixed it for me.

    Jim
     
    #10
    • Like Like x 1
  12. offroadhunter

    offroadhunter Member Silver

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Likes Received:
    17
    I had the same issue as Snow and your suggestion worked perfectly.. thankfully because my phone crashed just the other day and had to do it the old fashioned way. ty!
     
    #11
  13. snowtrooper1966

    snowtrooper1966 Genius Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,133
    Golden, flight medic!
    Thanks a ton.
     
    #12
  14. snurblet

    snurblet Member Bronze

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    So did flightmedic's suggestion work, snowy?
     
    #13
  15. snowtrooper1966

    snowtrooper1966 Genius Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Likes Received:
    1,133
    Was gonna slam u for calling me snowy, but saw I didn't get flightmedic's userid right above either, so everyone gets a pass, once;-)
    Worked like a charm.
    I actually thought of that, noticed it seemed to be scanning on startup already, even tho it was not checked in the settings.....
     
    #14

Share This Page