Please Help! .Ipsw problem 2.2.1 with Vista.

cameronb

Jun 12, 2009
Okay, I know im a complete noob, but I seriously need help with this program.

I am following the guide at this link http://www.theiPhoneblog.com/2008/09/29/how-to-jailbreak-iphone-21-windows-edition/.

Now, I downloaded QuickPwn via the DevTeam's torrent thats all good.

But my problem is that whenever I download the 2.2.1 firmware, Not only does QuickPwn not recognize it exists, but iTunes as well!
-Also, I redownloaded the firmware 5 times. Still the same.

To say more, the firmware is downloaded as a .zip file and whenever I try to unzip it it just gives me some folders, none of them containing the .ipsw.

I also cant see the little grey cube icon that the .ipsw firmware shows up as, as seen in the tutorial I am following.

I am using a Dell Studio With windows Vista home premium and Silverlight, and just got it about a month ago.

Please Help Me!
I am pretty flexible when it comes to electronics but all of google cant save me from such a little crisis!

patrickj

Genius
Gold
Sep 2, 2007
Austin, Tx
ipadinsight.com
Hi & Welcome and all that jazz.

I tried out the download link for the .ipsw in that article, and it is valid (from Apple's site) and works fine for me - leaves me with a 246.4mb .ipsw file.

So ... if you've already tried the download several times over, I would be suspicious of a Vista setting maybe getting in the way - maybe try DLing it with your antivirus / anti-malware apps temporarily turned off. Or watch carefuly for any popups when you start DLing ...

cameronb

Jun 12, 2009
Hi & Welcome and all that jazz.

I tried out the download link for the .ipsw in that article, and it is valid (from Apple's site) and works fine for me - leaves me with a 246.4mb .ipsw file.