Porting from Verizon

Dec 14, 2007
My wife wants to get me an iPhone for Christmas. Though I am blown away by all its features and capabilities, there are two issues I'm unsure about. I'm especially interested in hearing from Verizon subscribers who ported over to AT&T.

1. Call Quality. I will be using the iPhone primarily for its phone feature. How is the call quality overall? I've had a Razr V3M with Verizon and have had no issues whatsoever with dropped calls, static, clarity, etc. I am a bit hesitant after reading some reviews about what to expect.

2. AT&T Coverage. I've had little experience with AT&T but know that they don't always get high marks. Is there coverage on par with Verizon's?

3. For former Verizon subscribers. I would be porting my number over and paying an ETF. In your experience, has the expense been worth it?

Thanks for everybody's input!

gcvt

Zealot
Gold
Jun 21, 2007
San Francisco
I ported over from Verizon, using a RAZR, and paid the ETF...

1. Call quality in my area is great and I get about the same amount of dropped calls - maybe one or two a month.

2. AT&T coverage is great in my area too. I haven't run into to any problems related to not having coverage now where I had it with Verizon.

3. Sure, it sucked to swallow that $175 ETF, but I couldn't be happier :D

Of course, the coverage and call quality all come down to where you live. In an area like San Francisco, this is hardly of concern. If you have any friends in your area with AT&T, definitely talk to them about their experiences.

Jul 23, 2007
Just ported from Verizon yesterday. Took about 1/2 hour for two lines. All is well. However I feel that call quality is better with V. YMMV

Apr 9, 2007