Possible to use AT&T with no data plan?

Yumcff

Sep 9, 2009
Hello! I'm new to the iPhone scene; a bit late but with the new announcement of the iPod touch without a camera, ive decided to get an iPhone. Ive done a good amount of research but have been unable to find a clear answer to my question.

Is it possible to jailbreak and unlock the iPhone 3GS and use it without the data plan? Ive read numerious mixed results from different forums and people who have done this but none have given a clear answer.

I have a regular family plan with ATT with unlimited texting so if i were to insert my SIM card (the SIM card has the 3g logo on it but i do not have a data plan) into an unlocked/jailbroken iPhone, can i make calls and text without being charged for data transfer? I know that you have to disable all the stuff like edge and 3g and stuff on the iPhone so it won't automatically connect to ATT's network but im just worried that ATT will find out and force me to sign up for a data plan. I live on a college campus so WiFi is everywhere so i find it redundant that i have to pay an extra $30 a month for something i already have.

I've heard that you can change the IMEI (not too sure what that is) on the iPhone to make it seem like you're still using your old cell phone but like i said, i was unable to find clear instructions on how to do this or any other info related to that. Thanks for the help and i apologize for the giant walls of text...didn't think it would take this much to explain my situation :D

wjp09

Zealot
Gold
Feb 25, 2007
NJ
ive been gone for a while so I can't help you answering that question exactly HOWEVER,

att says in theyre contract that they reserve the right to add an appropriate data plan at anytime on your contract if they find out you are using an iPhone

Saverino

Zealot
Gold
Jun 1, 2008
Burbank
As of 4 days ago IIRC, AT&T too now requires a data plan for all smartphones they sell.