PSA: Using your nanoSIM in Nexus 4, Galaxy S4, HTC One or..

Discussion in 'iPhone 5' started by chris, Apr 11, 2013.

  1. chris

    chris Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Likes Received:
    1,777
    You are going to need a nanoSIM to microSIM adapter. Noosy makes very good quality adapters, that are about $3 on Amazon for a set.

    Here's the most important bit of information. Whatever you do, make sure you don't insert the adapter without your nano SIM in it. Your SIM tray will get stuck. There are pins in the phone that expect either an empty tray or SIM. If you have an adapter in the tray, there is no fix.

    I've personally wrecked three phones on three different platforms. webOS, Windows Phone, Android. Three phones completely broken by a SIM adapter that did not have the card in it.

    On a side note, Google's Play support is awesome. They are replacing my Nexus 4. You might not be so lucky. Consider yourself warned. Don't be like me. Don't destroy your phones.
     
  2. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,430
    That reminded me of something. I have a plastic nano to micro sim adapter that I recently used. I took the sim out of my 5 and put it in my 4S when I went to a movie screener since they bag and tag cell phones and keep them at the theater entrance. I didn't want to risk losing my 5. Anyway, when I went to remove the sim from the 4S, it wouldn't come out. It was jammed in there and I thought it was going to stay stuck. I worked at it a bit and finally got it, but I'm going to look for a thinner adapter in case I have to use one again. I'll never put that adapter back in the 4S. I've used thin, flimsy, sticky micro to standard adapters before without problems. This one was thicker, not bendable, requires a little piece of double-sided tape and has more potential to get stuck.

    This is it. I don't recommend this adapter:
    image.jpg
     
  3. chris

    chris Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Likes Received:
    1,777
    Wow, see I've had good luck with Noosy. Now I have to rethink my upcoming purchase, since my existing nano to microSIM is getting shipped off to Google with the Nexus 4.
     
  4. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,430
    They look like a quality product, but that scared me. A stuck sim can turn the phone into a brick. Also, I had to shave the adapter down a bit with some fine sandpaper to get it to fit in the sim tray. I ignored that red flag. I'm going to look around for one with a good review.
     
  5. chris

    chris Administrator
    Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2006
    Likes Received:
    1,777
    I ordered another Noosy, but open to picking up another adapter if you find one with good reviews. I looked around, but couldn't find may sim card adapter reviews. The ones that I did were based on price, where cheap equaled good.
     
  6. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,430
    I ordered a few (nano to micro, nano to standard, micro to standard) of these right after we talked about it on the 11th. Though I got a PayPal confirmation right after ordering, I haven't heard a word from the company. I'll let you know how they are when they arrive.
     
  7. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,412
    A few days ago, on Mindi's advice, I picked up a proper microsim at AT&T for my HTC One. Gonna pop it in in a few and activate it.
     
  8. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,430
  9. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,412
  10. JackRouach

    JackRouach Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Likes Received:
    2
    Question I wanted to pre order the galaxy s4 I wanted the 64gb of internal memory but all I see on AT&T is 16gb of memory. I know u can put a 64gb memory card but is there a s4 with 64 internal?


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  11. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,430
    AT&T is only showing 16 right now, but other sources say it will be available in 32 and 64 as well. However, some carriers might only offer the 16. It's a possibily that they won't offer the 64 at all in the US.
     
  12. JackRouach

    JackRouach Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ooh I just wait I don't think it going to sell out like iPhones


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  13. JackRouach

    JackRouach Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Likes Received:
    2
    Thanks for the quick reply


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  14. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,430
    You're welcome. I just edited my post a bit to add to it.
     
  15. JackRouach

    JackRouach Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Likes Received:
    2
    Another stupid question. Does its make a difference between having 64gb built in internally or having a 16gb internal with a 64gb memory card. Basically is there a difference between having it internally or not? Besides having to spend $ on the chip


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  16. JackRouach

    JackRouach Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry for bad grammar english is not my first langauge


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  17. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,430
    It works the same for media, but I've heard you can't install apps on the card. There may be ways around that though. I'm not 100% certain you can't do that, so hopefully someone with an Android phone will chime in and verify this.
     
  18. JackRouach

    JackRouach Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Likes Received:
    2
    yes I don't think you can install apps onto a sd card


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  19. liberated

    liberated Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    467
  20. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,430

Share This Page