question about 5.1.1 update......

Aug 28, 2011
14
0
1
Virginia
#1
i have a iPhone 4 with 5.1 with tethered jb and i have tried about 5 times to update to 5.1.1 and then jailbreak again but the update jus keep saying failed.......soooo what do i do? thanks in advance for the help :)
 
Aug 28, 2011
14
0
1
Virginia
#3
It jus says update fail on my phone! To restore I jus put in shut down mode and restore w iTunes? Sorry kinda new at this lol tks
 
Dec 15, 2008
5,386
340
83
27
Pensacola, FL
#4
It jus says update fail on my phone! To restore I jus put in shut down mode and restore w iTunes? Sorry kinda new at this lol tks
I would plug into laptop or computer and open iTunes if it does not auto open. Then press "Restore". It will update and you can then re-jailbreak if you'd like, and restore from backup etc.
 

iphonewarrior

Moderator
Moderator
Apr 11, 2008
13,847
701
113
#5
Thread moved to the iPhone Jailbreak section.

Jailbreaking 'breaks' the OTA (Over-The-Air) update. You have to connect you device to iTunes and update/restore that way.
 

Hawk

Genius
Gold
Aug 2, 2007
6,682
241
83
48
ATL
#6
I didn't know that there was a jailbreak at all for 5.1.1.
 
#8
It should be easy to restore your iPhone4. I had my phone on the tethered JB but things didn't work out well so I did a restore.

I would wait until the untethered jailbreak.
 
Dec 15, 2008
5,386
340
83
27
Pensacola, FL
#9
It should be easy to restore your iPhone4. I had my phone on the tethered JB but things didn't work out well so I did a restore.

I would wait until the untethered jailbreak.
I usually wait for the untethered jailbreak. Having a tethered jailbreak is just not worth the hassle.
 

iphonewarrior

Moderator
Moderator
Apr 11, 2008
13,847
701
113
#10
I usually wait for the untethered jailbreak. Having a tethered jailbreak is just not worth the hassle.
I wonder if they release a Cydia patch for tethered users, perhaps running Redsn0w over the top?
 

iphonewarrior

Moderator
Moderator
Apr 11, 2008
13,847
701
113
#12
What do you mean? So they don't have to rejailbreak with the untethered? That would be nice.
It's happened before, you've been able to run Redsn0w over a tethered jailbreak in the past, to make it un-tethered. Corona was also released with the last jailbreak which un-tethered previously tethered users by simply installing a .deb package from Cydia :)
 

iphonewarrior

Moderator
Moderator
Apr 11, 2008
13,847
701
113
#13
What do you mean? So they don't have to rejailbreak with the untethered? That would be nice.
You could run Redsn0w (as if you were going to jailbreak normally) but simply deselect the, 'Install Cydia' checkbox - then boom, un-tethered.