Questioning Jailbreak

PDACPA

Silver
Jan 16, 2008
Florida
I used the greenpoison jailbreak to jailbreak my phone a few months ago. I am by no means an expert on the jailbreak side, but have become a big fan of biteSMS, mywi, and some other enhancements (one touch to shut down background running apps and more custom themes).

However, over the past few weeks, I feel like my phone is "slow" to respond. I open biteSMS (or the OEM messenger) and there is a delay before I can actually start typing. Sometimes opening the phone with the slider, there is a delay. Nothing stops the phone, it just has these "pauses" that really are getting annoying when I know it should work faster (and my wifes 3GS can do it faster).

I have done a hard boot many times (again, very slow to complete the cycle, but completes it) with the holding the power and home key till the Apple logo appears (and then the greenpoison Apple).

I am wondering if the greenpoison jailbreak vs another method is the culprit. I am still on 4.2.1 as there has been no update from greenpoison.

If I was to switch, do I need to unjailbreak and then re-jailbreak with another method? Any advice or thoughts appreciated.

iNinja

Zealot
Gold
Aug 8, 2008
UK
You wont get an update from greenpoison. You need to back-up then update through iTunes to 4.3.3 then rejailbreak using any method - I would recommend jailbreakme.com and then put your jailbreak tweaks back on your iDevice.

Kadelic

Genius
Gold
Jan 4, 2010
Dallas, TX
I recommend updating to 4.3.3 and using redsn0w or jailbreakme.com. I just updated from 4.2.1 to 4.3.3 without restoring and rejailbroke with redsn0w a few days ago. This was my second update or restore that PKGBackup made darn near effortless. I highly recommend it as it practically pays for itself with time, especially after a springboard crash "forgets" all your homescreen and folder layouts.