Screen Recorder-iOS 7?

Dec 23, 2013
1
0
1
#1
So I was wondering if there was an ios 7 screen recorder that you could use
WITHOUT A COMPUTER....
If not does any one know when one may come out
 

chris

Administrator
Administrator
Jun 10, 2006
11,813
1,779
113
Long Island, NY
#2
I haven't seen any screen recording apps in the store as of late. I'm pretty certain Apple doesn't allow it. Without a computer, there really aren't any low cost options. The GameCapture device is pretty awesome, but it's also $150. It also requires a computer.

What are you looking to record?
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#3
So I was wondering if there was an ios 7 screen recorder that you could use
WITHOUT A COMPUTER....
If not does any one know when one may come out
Not in the App Store, but there's one that works great in Cydia if you are on 6.1 and jailbroken. It's not compatible with 7.0.4 yet, but it might be within the next week or two if you want to jailbreak. It's called Display Recorder.
 

chris

Administrator
Administrator
Jun 10, 2006
11,813
1,779
113
Long Island, NY
#4
Not in the App Store, but there's one that works great in Cydia if you are on 6.1 and jailbroken. It's not compatible with 7.0.4 yet, but it might be within the next week or two if you want to jailbreak. It's called Display Recorder.
Was that same app in the App Store for a while. Did it sneak in for a bit and removed?
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#5
Was that same app in the App Store for a while. Did it sneak in for a bit and removed?
I don't remember it ever being in the App Store.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#7
It shouldn't be too much longer. The Display Recorder developer (Ryan Petrich) is working on iO7 compatibility. He tweeted a link to a working example of it on iOS 7 last night.

"Dug this out of cold storage today…"
http://t.co/wMEFun86ox
 

ZR_Yancy

Genius
Gold
Jul 11, 2008
3,982
737
113
Florida
#8
That would be a first. Android doesn't even have a screen recorder without being rooted.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#9
I checked Cydia today and noticed that Display Recorder is now iOS 7-compatible. This includes ARM64 devices. Here's a short demonstration video I made.

 

Kadelic

Genius
Gold
Jan 4, 2010
4,947
1,646
113
Dallas, TX
#10
I checked Cydia today and noticed that Display Recorder is now iOS 7-compatible. This includes ARM64 devices.
Awesome, thanks! I've been waiting for this to be updated, now if I can only remember what I wanted to record. :rolleyes:
 

liberated

Genius
Gold
Jul 19, 2007
3,238
488
83
#12
Recordmyscreen (tweak) is free though
 

Kadelic

Genius
Gold
Jan 4, 2010
4,947
1,646
113
Dallas, TX
#13
I bought DR a couple years ago so it was almost like getting it free a couple devices and jb's later. :)

Interesting, RecordMyScreen is reportedly capable of running on non-jailbroken devices. Have you tried it?

Edit: I wonder what the difference is between the app and the tweak? They're both free.
 

Kadelic

Genius
Gold
Jan 4, 2010
4,947
1,646
113
Dallas, TX
#14
I installed the tweak but when trying to install the app I get this:


ImageUploadedByTapatalk1389891000.095134.jpg


The RMS tweak says it supports sound, which I don't think DR does*. I'll have to play around with it some more but the RMS tweak works pretty well.
 

liberated

Genius
Gold
Jul 19, 2007
3,238
488
83
#15
I installed the tweak but when trying to install the app I get this:


View attachment 35238

The RMS tweak says it supports sound, which I don't think DR does*. I'll have to play around with it some more but the RMS tweak works pretty well.
You may need activator installed.
 

liberated

Genius
Gold
Jul 19, 2007
3,238
488
83
#16
I bought DR a couple years ago so it was almost like getting it free a couple devices and jb's later. :)

Interesting, RecordMyScreen is reportedly capable of running on non-jailbroken devices. Have you tried it?

Edit: I wonder what the difference is between the app and the tweak? They're both free.
Not sure what the difference is. I installed the tweak because the app mentioned iPad but not iPhone. I've used it without any issues.
 

Kadelic

Genius
Gold
Jan 4, 2010
4,947
1,646
113
Dallas, TX
#17
You may need activator installed.
Activator was automatically installed when I installed DR last night. It could be that is the conflict, but the screenshot shows "iOS < 7.0" which makes me think it's not compatible with the latest firmware.
 

liberated

Genius
Gold
Jul 19, 2007
3,238
488
83
#18
Is this the version ? I have iOS 7
ImageUploadedByiCafe Forums1389891797.119121.jpg
 

Kadelic

Genius
Gold
Jan 4, 2010
4,947
1,646
113
Dallas, TX
#19
Yeah. I have 7 too. The app and the tweak both mention iOS7 and iPad, and both show iPhone screenshots. I'm most curious how it's supposed to work on non-jb devices.
 
Dec 15, 2008
5,386
340
83
28
Pensacola, FL
#20