Setting up as new phone

uPhone559

New Member
Bronze
Jul 18, 2007
389
1
0
#1
when settings up as new phone when installing 3.0 software instead of using backup i goto sync my phone and all my stuff is lost, am i missing a step?

is there a place in the summary tab or info that will re-sync my previous contact list? i sync with windows contacts
 

Watcher

Zealot
Gold
Mar 29, 2009
1,785
30
48
Phoenix, AZ
#2
I'm pretty sure you have to Restore normally and only then will it allow you to restore backup which includes your Contacts. Restoring as a "New Phone" will wipe everything out and sets it up as new which means you can't restore from any previous backups.
 

BrownGem

Zealot
Gold
Feb 27, 2009
1,623
23
38
Texas
#3
Your contacts should still be in Outlook. "just sync your contacts to ical or outlook and then you can check mark the box "replace items on this iPhone" and it will put your contacts and even calendars back in". Is this a step you may be missing?. Found that in a search on restoring as new phone.