Shouldn't it automatically add the second quotation mark/parentheses?

TH55

Member
Bronze
Oct 30, 2011
356
9
18
#1
I don't understand, it is very annoying to have to toggle back through to second keyboard seconds later, it makes no sense and is incredibly inefficient. Is there an app (third party maybe) that does this?
 

RoofMonkey

Genius
Gold
Jun 21, 2010
8,891
2,057
113
Florida
#2
Is there really any software on any platform that does this? How would it know when you are finished with the quote?
 

TH55

Member
Bronze
Oct 30, 2011
356
9
18
#3
Oh good point...maybe when you hit space bar twice instead of once after the last word?
 

mhajec

Member
Bronze
Jun 24, 2010
44
0
6
Oregon
#4
Then it would just add a period and your quote would still be open...
 

FlwrPwer

Evangelist
Gold
Aug 7, 2008
1,855
77
63
39
Montgomery, NY
#5
This seriously bothers you? How would a computer know where you wanted to add the second anything?

I'm not trying to start anything, but you have a problem with every minute thing on the iPhone. If it makes you that unhappy and if it's that inefficient, why not just get a new, different phone?
 

Rugaby

Genius
Gold
Feb 18, 2011
7,122
1,220
113
Washington state
#6
I think after reading all of your complaint threads that the iPhone just may not be a good fit for you.
It's either that or you feel knit picking every little thing that you find wrong with the phone therapeutic. The random capitalization. The notifications bar. And now this.
Does it really bother you that much?
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,421
5,548
113
Utah
#7
Protip: you don't have to toggle to the other keyboard to start the quotes or to end them. You can stay on the main keyboard by hitting the "123" and sliding your finger to the quotes rather than letting go of the "123" and actually switching to the other keyboard. It saves a lot of time, especially when you become proficent at it. It also works with numbers and everything else on the second keyboard. I'm pretty sure this has been an iOS feature since 1.x.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,421
5,548
113
Utah
#8
This seriously bothers you? How would a computer know where you wanted to add the second anything?

I'm not trying to start anything, but you have a problem with every minute thing on the iPhone. If it makes you that unhappy and if it's that inefficient, why not just get a new, different phone?
This is very unhelpful and it does have the potential start something.

There is often a solution or workaround available.
 

FlwrPwer

Evangelist
Gold
Aug 7, 2008
1,855
77
63
39
Montgomery, NY
#9
This is very unhelpful and it does have the potential start something.

There is often a solution or workaround available.
This is very unhelpful and it does have the potential start something.

There is often a solution or workaround available.
Well, I'm sorry that I don't know the solution or the workaround. I was offering advice to a person who clearly has a problem with many things on the iPhone and that was to get a different phone. It's not for everybody. And I've seen numerous people post that same response with no moderator interference. I have been a member of this forum for 3 1/2 years with no problems. All of a sudden, in the past week, you have "spoken" to me twice.

Now, you're a moderator, so I will not say anything disrespectful as I enjoy this forum. I'm just going to leave it at this.
 

FlwrPwer

Evangelist
Gold
Aug 7, 2008
1,855
77
63
39
Montgomery, NY
#10
Protip: you don't have to toggle to the other keyboard to start the quotes or to end them. You can stay on the main keyboard by hitting the "123" and sliding your finger to the quotes rather than letting go of the "123" and actually switching to the other keyboard. It saves a lot of time, especially when you become proficent at it. It also works with numbers and everything else on the second keyboard. I'm pretty sure this has been an iOS feature since 1.x.
This is actually pretty cool. Never knew this. Just tried it. It's a good thing to know although I don't see myself using it that often personally. Thanks!
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,421
5,548
113
Utah
#11
Well, I'm sorry that I don't know the solution or the workaround. I was offering advice to a person who clearly has a problem with many things on the iPhone and that was to get a different phone. It's not for everybody. And I've seen numerous people post that same response with no moderator interference. I have been a member of this forum for 3 1/2 years with no problems. All of a sudden, in the past week, you have "spoken" to me twice.

Now, you're a moderator, so I will not say anything disrespectful as I enjoy this forum. I'm just going to leave it at this.
I've just noticed an increase in rude and unhelpful comments here lately. Some of which are even getting "likes." There is a solution/workaround to this problem (see my earlier post). What one person deems important may not be important to another. I'm just asking that we don't jump on people and tell them to get a new phone for problems like these. Thanks.

Regarding last week's issue, feel free to PM me. I'd be happy to discuss it with you in more detail.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,421
5,548
113
Utah
#12
This is actually pretty cool. Never knew this. Just tried it. It's a good thing to know although I don't see myself using it that often personally. Thanks!
You're welcome. I use it every day and it does save a little time. :)
 

Bennyboy

Genius
Platinum
Jul 21, 2010
14,017
1,756
113
PA
#16
I have no idea what you guys talking about, this sucks! :D
Can I get a screenshot or something?
 

Rugaby

Genius
Gold
Feb 18, 2011
7,122
1,220
113
Washington state
#17
I have no idea what you guys talking about, this sucks! :D
Can I get a screenshot or something?
You and your screenshots. Want to see my battery life or network speed while I'm at it?
I tried to screenshot it but it won't capture the ( as being raised when your finger is on it.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,421
5,548
113
Utah
#18
I have no idea what you guys talking about, this sucks! :D
Can I get a screenshot or something?
Just in case you're being serious: :D

Press the 123 button, but don't let go. Now slide your finger up to a number and let go. The number will appear and you will be back on the QWERTY keyboard without having to press the ABC button.
 

Jmbaker429

Evangelist
Gold
Jun 28, 2010
994
146
63
33
Florida
#19
Just in case you're being serious: :D

Press the 123 button, but don't let go. Now slide your finger up to a number and let go. The number will appear and you will be back on the QWERTY keyboard without having to press the ABC button.
I never knew that. Had the iPhone for years and am always finding cool new features. That will come in handy for sure.
 

Bennyboy

Genius
Platinum
Jul 21, 2010
14,017
1,756
113
PA
#20
Just in case you're being serious: :D

Press the 123 button, but don't let go. Now slide your finger up to a number and let go. The number will appear and you will be back on the QWERTY keyboard without having to press the ABC button.
I was dead serious lol
I didn't know that either, never paid attention I guess, just couldn't understand your guys with your fancy English and all :D