SIM CARD question

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by jareknyc, Feb 4, 2008.

  1. jareknyc

    jareknyc Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Likes Received:
    12
    Is there is anyway to save and load contact to and from sim card i currently have? Pleas help guyssss
     
  2. tymphillips

    tymphillips New Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Like for example (Razr -> Sim Card -> iPhone)?
     
  3. kcarr91

    kcarr91 New Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    there is something for a jailbreaked iPhone called isim i have used it works well
     
  4. jareknyc

    jareknyc Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Likes Received:
    12
    ye i have cingular card all my contacts and all that good stuff i need to save contacts on sim card and load them as well...let me know guys Thanks
     
  5. themanofthedark

    themanofthedark New Member
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes. you will need to jailbreak first, though.

    there is a program called SIMport.

    use it.
     
  6. little bob

    little bob New Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im going to make a long story not as long(I hope).

    I am planning on adding a 3rd phone to our ATT plan and getting the 3g for that line(for $199). The reason is that my wife is not able to upgrade to the new iPhone yet(for the $199 price). Will she be able to take the sim card out of her old phone(just a Samsung she got cheep) and put it in the iPhone and use the iPhone? I realize that we would have to add the data plan for her phone but I just don't know if the sim card for the iPhone is the same as the sim cards for the non-iphones.


    Thanks in advance.
     
  7. jarofclay73

    jarofclay73 Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Likes Received:
    15
    Your old SIM won't work in the iPhone.

    You'll get a new SIM card and, since you're already an AT&T customer, they'll transfer your old number quickly to the new SIM. And you're ready to go!

    I'm in the same boat as you. So, what I did was put all my contact names and numbers in Outlook Express so when I get my iPhone I can sync it up easily.
     
  8. little bob

    little bob New Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0

    Soooooooo, your saying that we can get the third phone line with the 3g and then have them put her old phone(non-iphone) on the new number and the new phone(3g) on the old number while we are at the store?
     
  9. jarofclay73

    jarofclay73 Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Likes Received:
    15
    Although that all sounds a bit confusing, since they're all AT&T numbers I don't see why any number of exchanges would be a problem. But, it would be good to ask the store directly as well. :)
     
  10. gadget22

    gadget22 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    If i take my iPhone 3g sim card and put in a bold will i be able to use email and text on the bold i just need it for work email purposes and i'll put back in iPhone when imnot at work.. Thanks
     
  11. Saverino

    Saverino Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Likes Received:
    92
    No you won't be able to, if you're on an iPhone 3G data plan.

    If you want full usability of both phones, I would recommend changing your iPhone 3G plan to the BlackBerry Bold 3G plan. That's what I do.

    You need a BlackBerry plan to use half the features on a BlackBerry, on the iPhone, you don't need any plan to access any of it's features, that's why its best to be on the BB Bold plan. Best of both worlds.
     
  12. gadget22

    gadget22 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have both of them? If you do can I ask which one do you prefer? My plan is to use the bold for work and my iPhone on the weekends.
     
  13. Saverino

    Saverino Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Likes Received:
    92
    Yes I do have both.

    To be honest, I prefer them both equally.

    For me, it's not about which phone I prefer, it's about which phone I need since they both do different things very well.

    If you are a heavy emailer, that's where the Bold truly shines.
     
  14. gadget22

    gadget22 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just 1 more question. Do you have a plan for each phone or do you just swap the sims back and forth? I really appreciate you answering these questions for me...
     
  15. Saverino

    Saverino Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Likes Received:
    92
    No problem. I only have one plan, all I do is swap the SIM card.
     
  16. kenneth

    kenneth Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    What does the BB bold data plan cost? Do you lose the visual voicemail?
     
  17. gadget22

    gadget22 Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    If im not mistaken, I believe that it's $30 as well..
     
  18. Saverino

    Saverino Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Likes Received:
    92
    It is the same price as the iPhone 3G's data plan, and yes you do lose Visual Voicemail as it's only apart of the iPhone's data plan. To me, it's worth it because I don't mind using regular voicemail, and because I can use email, internet, BBMessenger, etc, on the BlackBerry.
     
  19. och1975

    och1975 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Obviously, I am a newbie here and just ordered an iPhone 3G 16G on ebay which was activated at an ATT store. I am a current ATT customer with a 3G SIM card in a Motorola phone with a data plan.

    My question is, can I simply insert my existing SIM in the new iPhone and use my existing plan or will I need use a tool to unlock or jailbreak it? If so what software is recommended?
     
  20. fury

    fury Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Likes Received:
    238
    The data plan most likely won't work. There is no known software unlock for the 3G, although I've heard that it's coming out at the end of the year. Additionally, even if you can get it to work as a phone with your SIM card, AT&T will know you're using an iPhone 3G on a non-iphone plan, and will send you text messages and such warning you that you need to add an iPhone plan.
     
Similar Threads
  1. Jempast
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    858
  2. jk1073
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    4,158
Loading...

Share This Page