Simultaneous voice and data on Verizon CDMA iPhone 5

Lotharmataos

Member
Bronze
Oct 16, 2012
36
0
6
#1
I recently activated my SIM card at the Verizon store to to use it on my phone 5 (I really didn't need it). I surprisingly found out that my phone and data could now be used simultaneously which was a pleasant surprise. Y'all make sure you activate your SIM cards on Vzw iPhone 5 and disregard the message stating cellular data not working.
ImageUploadedByiCafe Forums1358239386.271848.jpg
ImageUploadedByiCafe Forums1358239395.453785.jpg



Sent using iCafe app
 

radtechy

Contributor
Bronze
Jul 20, 2011
496
41
28
#2
If that's the case then why don't they know about this?

Did you have to remove the SIM card or they knew the numbers?

I have a feeling if I ask for this to be done they are going to say it can't due to the lack of knowledge


Sent using iCafe app on my iPad Mini 32 GB
 

iphonewarrior

Moderator
Moderator
Apr 11, 2008
13,847
700
113
#5
Spoofed carrier logo, perhaps?

CDMA doesn't allow data and voice at the same time. That image you're seeing is just a cached page or you're looking at a screenshot. Or you're on wifi and for some obscure reason the logo isn't showing in the statusbar.

If it does work... it's witchcraft!
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,506
113
Utah
#7
CDMA carriers do allow simultaneous data and voice on LTE phones. However, the iPhone 5 isn't capable of it because it only has two antennas. All of the other LTE phones on Verizon have three antennas so they can do it. They use 3G for voice and LTE for data during the call.
 

rom x

Zealot
Gold
Jan 18, 2011
1,043
99
48
#8
if your in a 4glte area then that would explain everything. cause you can do both were their is 4glte.
 

Lotharmataos

Member
Bronze
Oct 16, 2012
36
0
6
#9
Europa might be right because I can't tell whether I'm using LTE or 3G but the only thing certain is that I'm using voice and data simultaneously. I took that screenshot yesterday and I also posted this post while I was on the phone. Y'all should believe me because I'm that kind of person that would joke with those kind of things. Just activate a SIM card and use it with your iPhone 5 if you'd like to use both simultaneously


Sent using iCafe app
 

Lotharmataos

Member
Bronze
Oct 16, 2012
36
0
6
#10
EverythingApple, look at the timing of the phone call in the green region ! I accessed the Apple store after 26 minutes and it shows details At 26:04 -- 4 seconds after. If I were ok wifi the logo would have shown because I was using my career network (it just doesn't say whether it was 3G or LTE), just just know if was really fast


Sent using iCafe app
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,506
113
Utah
#11
I think you misunderstood me. You cannot use simultaneous voice and data on a Verizon iPhone 5. The carrier does allow it, but the limitations of the iPhone 5 hardware stop it from working. The SIM card gets activated when you activate the phone.
 

Lotharmataos

Member
Bronze
Oct 16, 2012
36
0
6
#12
Europa, I'm sorry to challenge your knowledge but it works :) I posted this while I was on the phone. That image wasn't preloaded


Sent using iCafe app
 

rom x

Zealot
Gold
Jan 18, 2011
1,043
99
48
#13
try this, reboot the phone make a call and then open your broweser and see if you can surf the web while on
the call. if you can then it is possible that you are using a sprint signal. since europa said verizon won't
allow it.
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,365
5,506
113
Utah
#14
Europa, I'm sorry to challenge your knowledge but it works :) I posted this while I was on the phone. That image wasn't preloaded
So you're saying after you clicked "okay" it loaded the page even though the popup said it wouldn't work?

I think it was just cached. Try loading a website you've haven't already visited while you are on a phone call and report back.
 

Lotharmataos

Member
Bronze
Oct 16, 2012
36
0
6
#15
Well, I tried to reboot my phone and followed the same steps but it is not working anymore ... I have a Verizon iPhone and I am under contract. I'm not sure what has changed exactly


Sent using iCafe app
 

Lotharmataos

Member
Bronze
Oct 16, 2012
36
0
6
#19
I also do not know why I was able to chat on Facebook, send emails And post this thread while I was on the phone !


Sent using iCafe app