Simultaneous voice and data on Verizon CDMA iPhone 5

Discussion in 'iPhone 5' started by Lotharmataos, Jan 15, 2013.

  1. Lotharmataos

    Lotharmataos Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently activated my SIM card at the Verizon store to to use it on my phone 5 (I really didn't need it). I surprisingly found out that my phone and data could now be used simultaneously which was a pleasant surprise. Y'all make sure you activate your SIM cards on Vzw iPhone 5 and disregard the message stating cellular data not working. ImageUploadedByiCafe Forums1358239386.271848.jpg ImageUploadedByiCafe Forums1358239395.453785.jpg


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  2. radtechy

    radtechy Contributor
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Likes Received:
    41
    If that's the case then why don't they know about this?

    Did you have to remove the SIM card or they knew the numbers?

    I have a feeling if I ask for this to be done they are going to say it can't due to the lack of knowledge


    Sent using iCafe app on my iPad Mini 32 GB
     
  3. EverythingApple

    EverythingApple Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Likes Received:
    223
    I really doubt this. CDMA does not have the technology to do this and Apple would have known about this.
     
  4. Rugaby

    Rugaby Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Your screenshots don't show or prove much either. I can go to an app and it will show the last page I was on also.
     
  5. iphonewarrior

    iphonewarrior Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    701
    Spoofed carrier logo, perhaps?

    CDMA doesn't allow data and voice at the same time. That image you're seeing is just a cached page or you're looking at a screenshot. Or you're on wifi and for some obscure reason the logo isn't showing in the statusbar.

    If it does work... it's witchcraft!
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • List
  6. EverythingApple

    EverythingApple Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Likes Received:
    223
    Thank you!
     
  7. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    CDMA carriers do allow simultaneous data and voice on LTE phones. However, the iPhone 5 isn't capable of it because it only has two antennas. All of the other LTE phones on Verizon have three antennas so they can do it. They use 3G for voice and LTE for data during the call.
     
  8. rom x

    rom x Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    99
    if your in a 4glte area then that would explain everything. cause you can do both were their is 4glte.
     
  9. Lotharmataos

    Lotharmataos Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Europa might be right because I can't tell whether I'm using LTE or 3G but the only thing certain is that I'm using voice and data simultaneously. I took that screenshot yesterday and I also posted this post while I was on the phone. Y'all should believe me because I'm that kind of person that would joke with those kind of things. Just activate a SIM card and use it with your iPhone 5 if you'd like to use both simultaneously


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  10. Lotharmataos

    Lotharmataos Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    EverythingApple, look at the timing of the phone call in the green region ! I accessed the Apple store after 26 minutes and it shows details At 26:04 -- 4 seconds after. If I were ok wifi the logo would have shown because I was using my career network (it just doesn't say whether it was 3G or LTE), just just know if was really fast


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  11. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    I think you misunderstood me. You cannot use simultaneous voice and data on a Verizon iPhone 5. The carrier does allow it, but the limitations of the iPhone 5 hardware stop it from working. The SIM card gets activated when you activate the phone.
     
  12. Lotharmataos

    Lotharmataos Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Europa, I'm sorry to challenge your knowledge but it works :) I posted this while I was on the phone. That image wasn't preloaded


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  13. rom x

    rom x Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    99
    try this, reboot the phone make a call and then open your broweser and see if you can surf the web while on
    the call. if you can then it is possible that you are using a sprint signal. since europa said verizon won't
    allow it.
     
  14. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    So you're saying after you clicked "okay" it loaded the page even though the popup said it wouldn't work?

    I think it was just cached. Try loading a website you've haven't already visited while you are on a phone call and report back.
     
  15. Lotharmataos

    Lotharmataos Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I tried to reboot my phone and followed the same steps but it is not working anymore ... I have a Verizon iPhone and I am under contract. I'm not sure what has changed exactly


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  16. rom x

    rom x Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    99
    most likely you cleared the cache when you did the reboot
     
  17. Lotharmataos

    Lotharmataos Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please guys disregard my post because I am not sure what exactly happened ! I wa


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  18. psylichon

    psylichon Genius
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Likes Received:
    751
    Does Verizon use SIM cards now?
     
  19. Lotharmataos

    Lotharmataos Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also do not know why I was able to chat on Facebook, send emails And post this thread while I was on the phone !


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  20. EverythingApple

    EverythingApple Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Likes Received:
    223
    I don't think it ever worked. I think it was what rom x said happened.
     

Share This Page