Siri on the new Apple TV will be restricted to just 8 of 80 launch countries

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Sign up


Dec 7, 2011
Miami, Florida
Siri is turning her back on 72 of the countries in which the new Apple TV will launch. The reason for her decision is currently unknown, given that she is available for iPhone and iPad in more than twice that number of countries.

Siri is so certain that she will not be gracing the shunned countries with her presence anytime soon that the remote control unit shipping with the Apple TV for those countries is different: The Chosen countries will get a "Siri Remote," while the forsaken ones will merely get an "Apple TV Remote."

The Chosen countries—in alphabetical order—are:

Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Japan, Spain, the UK and the U.S.

(via AppleInsider)