SMS across both my idevices

Discussion in 'iOS Software' started by Rootntootn, Apr 6, 2013.

1. Rootntootn

Rootntootn Member
    Bronze

Hi, I'm a doctor and use my iPhone5 and Ipad3 (both with latest ios6 versions) on call to receive SMS messages instead of pages.

Both are registered under the same Apple ID, of course. I especially want that both receive each SMS I get because I chart responses using OpenOffice on my Ipad (Zagg case with included bluetooth keyboard--my mobile office). Under Setup/Messages I have my personal phone number at the top on both devices as the place both to receive and originate messages.

Problem is, I get messages fine on my iPhone, but they don't come to my ipad always. The only way to get the messages consistently on the ipad is to resend them to myself from the iPhone. Then a copy shows up on both devices.

Any guidance on why this is or how I could fix it that both receive all SMS to my phone number?

Thanks!

Sent using iCafe app

2. Ohmster

Ohmster Member
    Silver

I've had a similar issue with iMessages across three devices (MBPr, iPad Mini, iP5). Only thing that has worked for me is turning off iMessages on the trailing device and then 'rebuilding' the account by re-enabling it. Right now, all three are behaving. Good luck.

Sent using an iOS device

3. Ohmster

Ohmster Member
    Silver

Is your Apple I'd account an enabled email in iMessage on both devices?

Sent using an iOS device

4. Europa

Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

If it's sent as an iMessage from an Apple device to your email, it will go to your iPhone and your iPad. If it's sent to your phone number as an SMS from a non-Apple device, it will only go to your phone. If it's sent to your phone number as an iMessage from an Apple device, it will only go to your phone.

5. Ohmster

Ohmster Member
    Silver

That make sense, Europa. For some reason I thought I was getting all my messages across all devices (re your third point). Not sure now! :)