Some iPhone Questions

amb9800

Feb 14, 2008
Hey guys- new here. I've been using Windows Mobile for about 4 years now, and my current phone (i-mate PDA2k) is kind of dying. The Sony Ericsson XPERIA and others look cool, but I think I'll wait on those till WinMo 7 launches in 2009.

Till then, I think I might get an iPhone. Have some questions though:

1) Outlook Syncing -- so contacts should work fine, but I've heard over some months that there were issues with syncing calendar items, particularly recurring appointments. What's the current status on this, for syncing in both directions (e.g. adding events to iPhone and syncing back to Outlook)? (I'd be using Vista + Outlook 2007 btw)

2) Appointment reminders -- how does the iPhone handle calendar reminders? On WinMo, following the reminder time I set (typically 15 min), I get a popup with the item(s) to snooze or dismiss. Also, the today screen shows everything I have coming up, and any active tasks on the to-do list. What's the iPhone equivalent for this?

3) Contact fields -- does the iPhone sync all of Outlook's data fields for contacts, including the notes page? (where I typically store how I know the person and other important info)

4) Bluetooth -- has anyone come out with a solution to get A2DP for stereo headphones (without a hardware attachment), or is it still in the wait-for-months-until-apple-does-something category?

5) Video -- in terms of 3rd party native apps currently available for jailbroken iPhones, is there anything to handle other video formats yet, like DivX/Xvid and WMV?

6) Handwritten Notes -- the stock iPhone Notes app seems kind of useless. The WinMo notes app lets you do handwritten, typed, and voice notes all in one. I basically just need handwritten notes to quickly scribble stuff down. Is there an iPhone app for this yet?

themanofthedark

Gold
Jan 5, 2008
Boston
1) as i hear, outlook syncing works fine with contacts and appointments or whatever.