Sometimes losing Notes when syncing iPhone with MS Outlook

Discussion in 'iPhone 5' started by iPutz, Sep 2, 2014.

1. iPutz

iPutz Zealot
    Silver

I sync my iPhone 5 and iPad 3 almost every day with Microsoft Outlook on a PC. 99% of the time everything works perfectly. But about 1sync out of 100 ends up wiping out all but 3 or 4 of the notes in both Outlook and on either the phone the iPad or both. Both iDevices have the latest iOS version (7.1.2) and the PC is running Windows 7 and MS Office 2007. Fortunately, I make a daily B/U of my outlook.pst file and can recover almost all of what was lost but doing so is a lot of unecessary work. I have been syncing my iPhones for several years now, since I had my 3GS, without any problem at all until the beginning of this year when this issue with notes started. Has anyone else had this issue and found a solution for it?

#1 iPutz, Sep 2, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 4, 2014
  2. Mathew Connelly

Bronze

I've never heard or had the issue but I suspect it has something to do with the place where notes were last modified/created/removed. Correct me if I am wrong but if you delete a number of notes from Outlook and then you created some new notes on the iPhone during sync - iTunes would delete the Outlook-deleted notes from your iPhone and add the iPhone-created to Outlook - right? I suspect that iTunes sync does not always operate in this way.

3. iPutz

iPutz Zealot
    Silver