Sorry if this is a stupid question about MacBook pro

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Muckcityjustin, Sep 23, 2012.

  1. Muckcityjustin

    Gold

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Likes Received:
    519
    I just recently got a new Macbook pro and I know it comes with the 1 year limited warranty. Do I have till almost that is up to purchase Applecare?
     
  2. Kadelic

    Kadelic Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,617
    Yes, I believe you can purchase AppleCare for your MBP at any time during the original one year warranty. When I bought mine almost two years ago I waited about 10 months before I bought AppleCare. I'm pretty sure their policy is still the same.

    From their web site:

    "Important notes

    The AppleCare Protection Plan can be purchased only while your Mac or Apple display is still covered under the standard one-year limited warranty. See AppleCare Protection Plan Terms and Conditions for complete product details."

    http://www.apple.com/support/products/mac.html
     
  3. Muckcityjustin

    Gold

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Likes Received:
    519
    That's what I thought but wasn't positive. Thanks!
     
  4. Kadelic

    Kadelic Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,617
  5. billnye97

    billnye97 Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Likes Received:
    75
    Yeah and actually when it gets near the end date of the warranty Apple contacted me through email about extending it through AppleCare. I want to say it was about a month till it expired.
     
  6. Muckcityjustin

    Gold

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2008
    Likes Received:
    519
    I figured this is about when i will add Applecare. I definitely want to do it .
     
  7. Ohmster

    Ohmster Member
    Silver

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Likes Received:
    20
    Applecare is nice, but I've owned two dozen or more Mac desktop and laptop machines since the late 80's and have nothing go wrong post warranty period other than a power supply for a G3 desktop. Easy and cheap fix.
     

Share This Page