Spectacularly stupid syncing question

dwoog

Feb 28, 2008
Forgive my idiocy. I'm new to iTunes. I had about 50 songs on iTunes on my work computer (most from my CDs, a few purchased). I synced them with my iPhone. When I restarted my computer, my entire iTunes program was erased -- that's something that IT does here apparently, to prevent overuse of iTunes. So now I'll use my home computer for iTunes/iPhone.

My question: If there are no songs in my iTunes, will my computer sync by erasing everything that's on my iPhone? In other words, does syncing work both ways, or only one?

A related syncing question involves my contacts in Outlook. If I have only a name and email in Outlook on my computer, but name, email and several phone numbers on my iPhone, does my iPhone add the new info to my computer? And vice versa?

THANKS!

dwoog

Feb 28, 2008
i keep mine unchecked, because i only want my things to sync when i tell them to sync. I'm a control freak like that. If you would rather not mess with it, and let iTunes handle it, then don't check the box.

Hi Mitch:

Sorry, I'm confused by your answer. First you said you keep the box unchecked, because you want to control the syncing. Then you said that to let iTunes handle it, the box should also be unchecked. Which is it? THANKS

I said "if you would rather not mess with it... then don't check the box". This will let iTunes handle your syncing, which means it will sync every time you plug in your ipod.

i don't like this, so i uncheck the box.

it doesn't have to be one way or the other... just user preference.

oh, by the way, my name is not mitch... that is just a quote in my signature.

My name is Erik.

test post

iPhone Wallpaper.jpg