Sprint data limits

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by memnautikus, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. memnautikus

    memnautikus Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had AT&T iPhone 4S and yeah speeds we're great. But I only got close to 2 gbps rarely but always over 1. I went to sprint because of the unlimited data. Has anyone ever gone over 5gb a month? I am trying to find out if they throttle it. If u have sprint please post the most gb you had with sprint. Thank u.
     
  2. memnautikus

    memnautikus Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    I forgot to mention that with the sprint data I always get close to 1 gb sometimes little over. But that's fine with me. I'm tired of AT&T. They lost me for sure.
     
  3. rom x

    rom x Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    99
    there are zero limits unlimited means unlimited with sprint no throttling. that is how a smart phone contract should be if you ask me.
     
  4. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,468
    There is no throttling and it truly is unlimited. However, I believe it's only a matter of time before they start capping data. They can get away with it right now because their 3G speeds are very slow and thereforee I doubt they have many people using 20+ GB/month like AT&T does. I think they offer unlimited plans to stay competitive. They each have to have one thing the other doesn't. For Verizon it's the best nationwide coverage. For AT&T it's the fastest data and simultaneous 3G and voice. I've never gone over 1 GB/month and AT&T has what I care about the most so I've stuck with them.
     
  5. rom x

    rom x Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    99
    oops i forgot to post my most gb's per month. the most i have ever gone with sprint has been approx 6-8gb's
     
  6. memnautikus

    memnautikus Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys. I'm not planning on going like 20gb. More in the range of 6-10 range. I like sprint so far. I guess it depends on your location but I'm good here.
     
  7. jawbrkr

    jawbrkr New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm on the sprint unlimited data plan myself. I just joined less than 2 weeks ago and I have noticed their 3G seems slow. But that can depend on different things. Some websites load faster than others depending on the content. When I'm at home or work I use wifi anyway. In between it's 3G.


    Sent from a phone that's better than yours!
     
  8. rom x

    rom x Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    99
    i agree the 3g speeds on sprint aren't blazing fast but they are fast enough. but the 4g really screams in my area;)
     
  9. memnautikus

    memnautikus Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wouldn't mind getting that hotspot but after they forced everyone a 5 gb cap that's not going to happen. I've read ppl had unlimited for years and suddenly Sprint took that away. It's scares me that they can easily even do that to all of us with smartphones. Take our unlimited. That would be screwed up.
     
  10. rom x

    rom x Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    99
    i have a funny feeling you are right. i just hope it takes awhile for them to actually do it.
     
  11. memnautikus

    memnautikus Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well if they do cap it I would end up going back to AT&T. I was paying for that 4gb hotspot option with AT&T. That's my route. But I see Verizon got that double your data thing. But yeah I hope they keep unlimited for a while.
     
  12. verwon

    verwon Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Likes Received:
    121
    My son and I have used over 7GB a month on Sprint and never had a problem.
     
  13. memnautikus

    memnautikus Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got something funny I just noticed. If u go to sprint website and click learn more after clicking unlimited data you'll see that ticker increasing in kbs, then mbs, as their saying why limit yourself, and when it goes into the gbs, the screen changes after displaying 5 gb. I think it's funny because it doesn't go past the 5.
     
  14. Tattooed Alex

    Tattooed Alex Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2010
    Likes Received:
    829
    http://www.macrumors.com/ reporting Sprint is throttling back the top 1% of data users. It has begun, what happened to truly unlimited?


    Sent from my iPad using iCafe app
     
  15. memnautikus

    memnautikus Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh damn. That sucks.
     
  16. Rugaby

    Rugaby Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,219
    Just means another round of commercials for all companies pointing out how they are better.
     
  17. rom x

    rom x Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Likes Received:
    99
    according to this news thread it's not for thoes using sprints network but "The throttling only applies to customers who use excessive data while roaming on partnered networks" so sprint is still truly unlimited.
     
  18. verwon

    verwon Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Likes Received:
    121

    You are correct!
     

Share This Page