SSN required for iPhone activation

Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

xfiver

Jun 26, 2007
Hello,

I just noticed on the syn&activation video that you need to have a SSN for activation. Since I'm a foreign student in the US, I have no SSN nor any credit history. Does that mean I cannot purchase the iPhone? Or what other way is there to get the iPhone?

When you but the iPhone in stores, do they require a credit (history) check?

Thanks in advance.

ColsTiger

Zealot
Gold
Mar 8, 2007
Columbus, GA
Hello,

I just noticed on the syn&activation video that you need to have a SSN for activation. Since I'm a foreign student in the US, I have no SSN nor any credit history. Does that mean I cannot purchase the iPhone? Or what other way is there to get the iPhone?

When you but the iPhone in stores, do they require a credit (history) check?

Thanks in advance.
Welcome to EI.

Yes. All new activations in stores require a social security number and a credit check. I guess you've only used pre-paid cell phones up to now.

xfiver

Jun 26, 2007
Welcome to EI.

Yes. All new activations in stores require a social security number and a credit check. I guess you've only used pre-paid cell phones up to now.
Yes, I have used only pre-paid programs so far. I guess the only way to work around this is someone else has to get my AT&T subscription like a family member.

ColsTiger

Zealot
Gold
Mar 8, 2007
Columbus, GA
Yes, I have used only pre-paid programs so far. I guess the only way to work around this is someone else has to get my AT&T subscription like a family member.
Yep. Someone with a social security number that is over 18 years old. That's a requirement to do the credit check and to sign the contract.

wjp09

Zealot
Gold
Feb 25, 2007
NJ
tfg I don't think so. As for the OP call up AT&T and see what they have to say. Have you ever had a cell phone before? They may just let you pay a deposit.

tfg

Jun 20, 2007