Stock weather app

VOLS34

Zealot
Gold
Jun 25, 2010
1,119
79
48
#1
Is anybody else having trouble with it updating? I know it's not the greatest app but I usually use the widget to get a quick look at the weather but its not updating.


Sent using iCafe app
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#2
It's updating fine for me. Try a hard reset.
 

VOLS34

Zealot
Gold
Jun 25, 2010
1,119
79
48
#3
It's updating fine for me. Try a hard reset.
I did that earlier. It appears its not recognizing certain cities I have stored or if my current location is in one of them.


Sent using iCafe app
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#4
So it updates weather for some cities? If so, have you deleted the ones that don't update and then added them again?

Sometimes Yahoo weather stops updating for certain areas. This has happened multiple times in my area. Once, it got stuck at 99°Fahrenheit and sunny for about three days, and another time it was stuck at 53°and dark for about four months. O_o The closest cities that had accurate weather were about fifty miles away. I had to rely on apps that didn't use Yahoo weather while I waited it out.
 

VOLS34

Zealot
Gold
Jun 25, 2010
1,119
79
48
#5
Some nearby cities do update yet seem to stop for long periods & says "update failed" But then update later. Some are or were doing nothing. I tried deleting the problem ones that I'm in most & going back & adding again but they aren't recognized. No city in the US is when I type it in.


Sent using iCafe app
 

MrMike6by9

Evangelist
Gold
Nov 16, 2008
1,482
121
63
70
Maryland, USA
#6
Try using the respective zip codes for those locations.
YMMV


Sent using iCafe app
 

VOLS34

Zealot
Gold
Jun 25, 2010
1,119
79
48
#7
Try using the respective zip codes for those locations.
YMMV


Sent using iCafe app
yes I tried that. No good. Seems to be a cellular data problem but works fine over WIFI.


Sent using iCafe app
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#8
Try resetting your network settings.
 

EverythingApple

Evangelist
Gold
Jul 28, 2010
3,864
225
63
North Jersey
#9
Is anybody else having trouble with it updating? I know it's not the greatest app but I usually use the widget to get a quick look at the weather but its not updating.


Sent using iCafe app
I don't use it much. I mostly use Weather USA and the weather app in chris' Best Free iPhone Apps thread.
 

VOLS34

Zealot
Gold
Jun 25, 2010
1,119
79
48
#10
Try resetting your network settings.
Didn't help. When on wifi everything is ok but when on LTE or 4G only a select few will update.


Sent using iCafe app
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#11
I just found another thread about this. It seems to be a known problem that affects a lot of people on AT&T and iOS 6.x. There is one possible solution posted there, but it didn't help everyone. Worth a shot, though.