Taboo question from noob

soccerphysio

Bronze
Apr 3, 2008
Birmingham AL via Long Island
I am new to the world of "i" --- I do not own a mac, iPod or iPhone (yes, I am that one guy you have heard about that is an "Apple Virgin"). However, I am seriously looking into purchasing the iPhone when the 3G rolls out (and my T-mobile contract expires in September).

I was wondering if anyone has any advice comparing the Tilt to the iPhone. I know this is potentially a very biased group, but would appreciate any objective feedback. My thoughts:

1. I have heard that the iPhone plans for internet/email access are expensive (I cannot find any concrete info on the AT&T website). What kind of rates are you guys paying?

2. I have read the iPhone loses it's newness factor fairly quickly, whereas the Tilt has more useful everyday functions for businesss and PDA purposes. ("the iPhone is a toy, the Tilt is a functional mobile device"). Can the iPhone be used effectively as a PDA?

3. Reports on these forums of guys going through 5-8 iPhones is very concerning.

As you can tell, I am trying to find reasons to NOT purchase an iPhone, and I have not had an opportunity to "test drive" one to alleviate my concerns. Additionally, I am very ignorant in the tech world (as if you couldn't tell), so I rely heavily on forums such as this for advice.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys!

styfle

Zealot
Gold
Mar 31, 2008
Hmm
Well I would say the best way to see if you want the iPhone or not would be to use a friends for like an hour.

I first thought it was just an expensive (yet awesome phone) until I really used it. Then even after buying it I still found more things I liked about it.
There are a few minor things that I don't like but they are irrelevant and not nearly as bad as many other phones.

patrickj

Genius
Gold
Sep 2, 2007
Austin, Tx
ipadinsight.com
Always hard to offer advice on this sort of subject, but I'll throw a few quick thoughts in: