Terminal opens each time I power on my Mac?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Bennyboy, Sep 25, 2011.

  1. Bennyboy

    Bennyboy Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,756
    Since I installed lion couple months ago, once in a while now, after I turn on my Mac, my terminal is open.
    Is there a reason why it opens itself up? I'm not an expert on macs, and this is the first time in 3 years since I've owned it that something like this has happened. Is this normal?
     
  2. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,434
    Your terminal likes you?
     
  3. Bennyboy

    Bennyboy Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,756
    how do I get it to unlike me? :D
     
  4. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,434
    That sounds pretty technical. I don't know.
     
  5. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,435
    Is this checked?
    [​IMG]
     
  6. iphonewarrior

    iphonewarrior Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    701
    Europa's nailed it. As usual. :)
     
  7. Bennyboy

    Bennyboy Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,756
    I'm not home now, ill try that later. I just don't get it how it's open in the first place, haven't touched it, and it's not everytime I turn my computer on.
    I'll let you know.
     
  8. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,434
    You need a VNC app such as Splashtop. That way, you can access your Mac's desktop right from your iPhone.
     
  9. Zanthe

    Zanthe #apple
    Gold

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2007
    Likes Received:
    298
    It's called "operator error" Benny. Yes, you did it. :ROFLMAO:
     
  10. iphonewarrior

    iphonewarrior Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    701
    Yeah, I paid for Splashtop (iPhone app) after hearing a few people mention it on here. Then when I went do download it on the Mac App Store I was horrified at the price.
     
  11. Kadelic

    Kadelic Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,633
    If memory serves, I downloaded the Mac app for free here.

    Edit: not sure if the Mac App Store version has other features or not.
     
  12. Bennyboy

    Bennyboy Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,756
    No mindi, it's not checked, what else could it be.
     
  13. Bennyboy

    Bennyboy Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,756
    I only have a MacBook, not an iMac, yet, doesn't the computer need to be on to use it?
     
  14. iphonewarrior

    iphonewarrior Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    701
    That's the streamer, works the same way. I like to use a universal app that works from iPhone/iPad to Mac/Win and Mac to Mac or Win to Win or Mac to Win etc.

    Splashtop is a bit pricey and does the same as the free alternatives.
     
  15. iphonewarrior

    iphonewarrior Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    701
    Yes the computer needs to be on, and it will work on a MacBook.

    Have a play around with apps like TeamViewer and LogMeIn.
     
  16. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,434
    I love Splashtop. Plays audio and video. Very polished and frequently updated.
     
  17. Kadelic

    Kadelic Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Likes Received:
    1,633
    I believe Splashtop adds sound to the remote viewing experience which is absent from apps like iTeleport. May not be an issue for some users.

    Edit: I was testing the app and didn't refresh the thread before making this post. Sorry for the redundant info :oops:
     
  18. iphonewarrior

    iphonewarrior Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    701
    I'm not too bothered about the audio, I've never needed audio through remote desktop.
     
  19. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,434
    It's handy, though, if you need to show someone something and you're away from your computer.
     
  20. iphonewarrior

    iphonewarrior Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    701
    I agree with you, but it's something I've never had so I wont miss it.
     

Share This Page