Tethering

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#1
I have a JB iPhone 3G and I'm considering tethering with PDAnet. For those of you who use it, can AT&T tell the difference between data used on the phone and data used on the laptop? If they can tell it was used on the laptop, can they charge you for the data? Is there nothing to worry about as long as you use less than 5 Gb a month on the laptop (or is it 5 Gb total between the iPhone and laptop?)?

Thanks
 

cpolaris502

New Member
Bronze
Nov 15, 2007
132
0
0
Rogers, MN
#2
Ive used it quite a bit and never had any problems with it.

If you do a few searches you should be able to find a couple threads all about this and what could happen between you and AT&T.
 

Skol312000

New Member
Dec 8, 2008
619
0
0
N
#3
I thought the iPhones data pla. Is an unlimiter one? Why are we limited to 5gigs? I know teethering isn't allowed,but... Plant is unlimited right?
 

PepeRB29

New Member
Mar 21, 2008
1,500
0
0
8 mile
#4
search is your friend

http://forums.everythingicafe.com/threads/pdanet-worth-it.35749/
http://forums.everythingicafe.com/threads/pdanet-review.38368/
http://forums.everythingicafe.com/threads/pdanet-awesomeness.36897/
http://forums.everythingicafe.com/threads/pdanet-use-iphone-as-wireless-router.33976/

to answer your question, i have used pdanet a lot, and have never been charged extra. i am not sure if there is a cap, but normal usage and some downloading should not cause any issues whatsoever.
 
Last edited by a moderator:

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#5
Ok, so I set it up and it worked great for tethering. It even stayed connected when I got a phone call. Isn't it supposed to disconnect when you get a call, text, or email? I don't have an app to allow apps to run in the background. I disconnected and went back to using the WiFi for my laptop and phone and after a couple of minutes, I noticed that the network I created on my MacBook for tethering disappeared fromt the list of available networks listed on it as well as on my phone. Do you have to set up a new network each time you want to tether or should it save this computer to computer network? I didn't notice anywhere on the MacBook where I could save the network I created.

Thanks!
 

PepeRB29

New Member
Mar 21, 2008
1,500
0
0
8 mile
#6
not sure if its supposed to stay connected or not when using the phone. i set up a new network each time i use it on my macbook, takes about 2 minutes to do so.
 

PepeRB29

New Member
Mar 21, 2008
1,500
0
0
8 mile
#7
^don't post about cracks or stealing apps, post reported
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#8
^don't post about cracks or stealing apps, post reported
Who are you referring to? I don't see anywhere where that has occurred on this thread.

I guess a moderator deleted it...
 

PepeRB29

New Member
Mar 21, 2008
1,500
0
0
8 mile
#9
yah, a mod deleted it, some guy posted up hacking info for a cracked pdanet version. wasn't you bro, no worries :)
 

downsized

Member
Bronze
May 3, 2009
88
0
6
#10
I've gone through looking for posts on "tethering", but have not been able to find much help.

We camp a lot, and many of us have laptops. I see a few devices availible that claim that you can turn your 3G phone into a wireless router.
Have any of you had any experiences with this?
The places that we camp, do (or soon will) have 3G access.

I suspect that the data usage would be "fairly" low, and even if a 5G limit were imposed, I could live with that, but it would be nice to allow several laptops to be connected...that, and the fact that several of the devices claim that they can be run on 13.5VDC.

No streaming videos, just mostly checking e-mails, and the like.
 

mitchellm4

Member
Bronze
Jan 21, 2009
191
0
16
26
Greensboro, NC
#11
on the 3.0 beta, tethering is working. if you are just checking email, however, just use your phone. you need to be careful because some people have reported AT&T giving them huge bills because of tethering.
 

downsized

Member
Bronze
May 3, 2009
88
0
6
#12
on the 3.0 beta, tethering is working. if you are just checking email, however, just use your phone. you need to be careful because some people have reported AT&T giving them huge bills because of tethering.
I appreciate that, but I am talking 4 or 5 families. Large campouts.
I suspect that I would not want to allow unlimited usage of my 3G, but enough so that everyone could check in once or twice a day.
 

mramay

Member
Bronze
Apr 24, 2009
45
1
8
Las Vegas!
#13
Jailbreak and PdaNet. I'm using Vista and it works surprisingly well.
 

Adam1389

Member
Silver
Nov 20, 2008
588
1
18
Ilwaco, WA
#15
You are wanting them to all be tethered to it at the same time?
 

iNinja

Zealot
Gold
Aug 8, 2008
3,984
20
38
UK
#16
Where are these reports of large bills after tethering? Surely it will just come out of the data plan of the phone?
 

Europa

Moderator
Senior Moderator
Dec 12, 2008
28,453
5,578
113
Utah
#17
You can only tether one laptop at a time.
 

PepeRB29

New Member
Mar 21, 2008
1,500
0
0
8 mile
#18
Where are these reports of large bills after tethering? Surely it will just come out of the data plan of the phone?
there are none, people simply think it can happen. kind of a scare tactic imo. i have used pdanet a lot and have never been charged a penny extra on my bill.
 

downsized

Member
Bronze
May 3, 2009
88
0
6
#19
You can only tether one laptop at a time.
I'm not sure about that. I see reports of WiFi routers that are designed to have 3G phones plugged into them, thus creating a true WiFi server.

I don't have any idea how well (or if) they work, but thought that it would be an ideal solution for a remote family camp.
 

mramay

Member
Bronze
Apr 24, 2009
45
1
8
Las Vegas!
#20
My suggestion is that you tether *your* laptop and use a program like Mail2Web. That will let everyone check/respond to their email but only need the one computer on the internet.

www.mail2web.com