The iPhone 7’s second speaker isn’t where you think it is

Discussion in 'iPhone 7' started by Rafagon, Sep 16, 2016.

1. Rafagon

Rafagon Genius
    Gold

The second speaker grille at the bottom is purely cosmetic.

The actual second speaker is the earpiece at the top, which is now two times louder.

This may create visual symmetry, but wouldn’t it create asymmetrical stereo sound—having one speaker at the top and the other at the bottom? This puts the right speaker considerably closer to your ears than the left speaker. But what do I know, I’m not a sound engineer.

2. ednygma

ednygma Contributor
    Bronze

I was under the impression that the 'stereo' effect was meant more for when you are holding your phone watching media or using it as a loudspeaker/speaker rather than when you are using it as a phone and the device is against your head.

3. Europa

Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

That's correct. I'm pretty sure he was thinking the directional sound would be different if one comes from the bottom rim and the other from the top screen portion of the phone (opposed to both rims). It doesn't work like, though. The stereo audio sounds great.

4. Napoleon PhoneApart

Senior Moderator

The second speaker was exactly where I thought it was. What a slap.in the face to our users' intelligence. ;)

5. Rafagon

Rafagon Genius
    Gold

I am thinking precisely of that—holding my phone watching a video or listening to a song. But I watch a lot of videos with the phone in portrait mode—many people don’t.

You’ll get a more “symmetrical” stereo effect when in landscape mode, as the author of the article pointed out towards the end: “the iPhone 7 won’t deliver as consistent stereo channel separation as your headphones.”