themes for iPhone 3G?

Jul 21, 2008
sorry guys im really new to this, i just got an iPhone 3g and i want to install some themes on it and some apps. i keep finding a lot of things but its for the regular iPhone. a lot of places say i need installer.app. can someone please tell me what i need and how to install themes on the 3g.... much appreciated!

and can it harm my phone?

Lincoln

Gold
Aug 11, 2007
Currently, Installer does not work on the 2.0 software/iPhone 3G; only Cydia does, an Installer-like app. Normally, you theme the iPhone with an application called SummerBoard, and with it, themes downloaded from Installer. However, SummerBoard is like Installer; it does not currently work on the 2.0 software/iPhone 3G.

Therefore, the only way to currently theme your iPhone is via SSH. SSH is a type of connection that allows you to modify the iPhone's filesystem. You should be careful with it, though, as you can damage the iPhone if you accidentally delete important files. SSH is more thoroughly explained in the sticky I linked you to earlier.

idle0095

Bronze
Mar 28, 2008
John i checked that sticky you sent to misha2dope but it says nothing about adding themes through ssh. how is that done with out summer board? is there a way to take a summer board theme and use it through ssh?

princess_80854

Silver
Jul 16, 2007
John i checked that sticky you sent to misha2dope but it says nothing about adding themes through ssh. how is that done with out summer board? is there a way to take a summer board theme and use it through ssh?
Without summerboard, you have to manually install a theme. That means switching out application icons individually and whatever else you desire to change, such as docks, batteries, dialpads, etc.

idle0095

Bronze
Mar 28, 2008
all i want is the image on the main screen with the icons how do i do that through openssh?

Fiziks

May 17, 2008