Things noticed in iOS 6 beta.

psylichon

Genius
Moderator
Oct 31, 2007
16,591
751
113
41
Philly
#41
iPhone or iPad, Jack? iCafe app works fine on my iPad. And try searching for las Vegas, NV. It's in 3D for sure.
 

fury

Evangelist
Gold
Oct 23, 2007
2,274
238
63
34
Louisville, KY
#43
The eic app doesn't work for me in ios 6, the battery sucks now and I can't find any way to view the fly over feature in maps. The turn-by-turn nav is cool though.
EIC app is working here. Seems people are having mixed results with apps.

The flyover feature is activated by tapping the 3D button (next to the arrow icon that enables GPS and compass)
 

Hondamaker

Genius
Gold
May 14, 2007
9,946
671
113
57
Fairborn, Ohio
#46
iPhone or iPad, Jack? iCafe app works fine on my iPad. And try searching for las Vegas, NV. It's in 3D for sure.
EIC app is working here. Seems people are having mixed results with apps.

The flyover feature is activated by tapping the 3D button (next to the arrow icon that enables GPS and compass)
Got it working by restoring from an iCloud back up.
 

CamXCollins

Member
Bronze
Jun 4, 2010
280
10
18
#51
I don't think it's been mentioned on here, but they have added full screen browsing to safari when in landscape mode. Simply click the right most icon at the bottom and you have full screen. It does not work in portrait, but will continue to be full screen if you visit apps other than safari and then return.
 

Attachments

CamXCollins

Member
Bronze
Jun 4, 2010
280
10
18
#52
is there an option to enter password when downloading apps?

To answer your post, your Apple ID password is still required on new purchases of apps, both free and paid. The instances that don't require a password occur when updating an app that has already been purchased.
 

Tinman

Evangelist
Gold
Jul 16, 2007
4,334
183
63
Aridzona
#54
Each UDID is just for one unique device. So each individual device needs to be registered to run the betas.
While this is true, I was not originally going to run the beta on my iPad so didn't bother registering its UDID. But when I loaded the beta it did so without a hitch--and its UDID is still not registered. So it looks like Apple is not checking UDID. Think the same thing happened during the (early?) 5.x betas.




Michael
 

iphonewarrior

Moderator
Moderator
Apr 11, 2008
13,847
702
113
#55
What happens when the iOS 6 beta 1 expires? You won't be able to upgrade unless you have a registered UDID. You'd be forced to downgrade to 5.1.1, but that may cause a problem... iTunes errors etc.
 

Hondamaker

Genius
Gold
May 14, 2007
9,946
671
113
57
Fairborn, Ohio
#56

(L)

Contributor
Bronze
Nov 7, 2010
277
28
28
Arizona
#58

Tinman

Evangelist
Gold
Jul 16, 2007
4,334
183
63
Aridzona
#59
Just found a way to install the beta on any device without registering the udid. You have to restore your device to a new download of 5.1.1, then install the beta and set up as new device, not from a back up.

http://absinthejailbreak.org/install-ios-6-beta-1-without-udid/
I didn't setup as new and it installed without issue. I was not following any guide as I mistakingly thought I had registered the UDID.

I think Apple is just not checking.




Michael
 

Hondamaker

Genius
Gold
May 14, 2007
9,946
671
113
57
Fairborn, Ohio
#60
I didn't setup as new and it installed without issue. I was not following any guide as I mistakingly thought I had registered the UDID.

I think Apple is just not checking.




Michael
I wonder if they'll check with the next betas?