Thinking of a Mac mini

Discussion in 'Mac mini' started by JON35Y, Oct 20, 2012.

1. JON35Y

JON35Y Member
    Bronze

Hey there, could anybody take the time to give me the idiots guide to the Mac mini?! All the pro's and con's. whether they are worth getting or worth going straight in for a real Mac? As you can probably tell I am completely new to the Mac scene and haven't really got a clue. I know there may be a new one coming out on 23rd so may wait until then and buy the version out now. Basically space is tight at my home and I would use the mini on my tv. Any comments would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance

Sent from my iPhone 5 using Tapatalk www.twitter.com/The_Real_JON35Y

2. chris

chris Administrator
    Administrator

I'm not sure the computer experience is best served on a TV, unless you are using it as an HTPC. I have an older Mac mini hooked up to my television for HTPC. There are times I need to use it for updates, surfing and it's not the ideal experience.

Most in the market for a Mac mini, do so as an easy transition from a PC. The Mac mini lets you bring your existing monitor, mouse and keyboard.

It's a very capable computer and you'll certainly get the Mac experience with one - just not sure if a TV as your monitor is the best option.

I highly recommend the Mac refurbished market. Check out refurb.me for an idea of what's available.

3. JON35Y

JON35Y Member
    Bronze

Thanks for your input, the monitor and keyboard was a question I was going to raise. Just remember that it was supposed to be an idiots guide....HTPC? :D

4. Kadelic

Kadelic Genius
    Gold