This Was Found Within Apple's New "Swift" Programming Language Documentation

Discussion in 'iOS 8' started by Napoleon PhoneApart, Jun 3, 2014.

1. Napoleon PhoneApart

Senior Moderator

This was an interesting find within Apple's Swift programming langauge documentation. Someone has a cunning mind. :D

r3LVpig.png

#1 Napoleon PhoneApart, Jun 3, 2014
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 16, 2014
  2. snowtrooper1966

Gold

Cunning stunts

3. Napoleon PhoneApart

Senior Moderator

And I'm wearing a new "Firefly" tee right now. :D

4. silvermoon

silvermoon Evangelist
    Gold

I'm really excited about Swift coming out in the fall with the MacOS update "Yosemite". As a programmar, Apple is breaking new ground and it will be interesting to see how Android responds.

5. RBNetEngr

RBNetEngr Contributor
    Bronze

I'm not a programmar, so would it be easier to learn Swift with no previous knowledge of C, C++, or Objective C? And, for programmars reading this thread, how difficult will it be for you to 1) learn Swift, and 2) convert/migrate your existing apps to Swift? Or is there no advantage to migrating existing code to Swift?

6. aknightstale41

Gold

Swift, like its name implies is a faster programming langauge, so less code does the same work but faster. And less code means less to learn. As for the converting Obj C to swift, they probably will handle it that with an Xcode feature like they did with converting your non ARC apps to ARC. There should be a considerable advantage to migrating old code to swift, speed being the foremost, probably less use of resources as well....Boy technology keeps marching forward, i just finished getting many of the key concepts of Obj C and IOS development down, got a couple apps in the store, and now a new langauge...guess I'm going back to school again.

7. silvermoon

silvermoon Evangelist
    Gold