Tivo & DVR's, newbie questions

LornaP

Bronze
Jul 12, 2009
Michigan
Hello all,

I'm just starting to research DVR's and possibly Tivo. The main reason for needing some form of recording device is to record football games this season. I need to find something that is fairly simple to set up and use. From what I understand about Tivo is you have to buy the recorder than pay a monthly subscription. I would like to avoid the monthly subscription if a DVR is good enough for recording just one game at a time.

I have never used a DVR before and was wondering if they are easy enough to set to record, at an earlier time. I won't be at home when it would need to start. Any advice on where to start looking would be very much appreciated. I have looked around Amazon and see the prices for DVR's start at approx $100+

TYIA

chris

Administrator
Administrator
Jun 10, 2006
Long Island, NY
Hello all,

I'm just starting to research DVR's and possibly Tivo. The main reason for needing some form of recording device is to record football games this season. I need to find something that is fairly simple to set up and use. From what I understand about Tivo is you have to buy the recorder than pay a monthly subscription. I would like to avoid the monthly subscription if a DVR is good enough for recording just one game at a time.

I have never used a DVR before and was wondering if they are easy enough to set to record, at an earlier time. I won't be at home when it would need to start. Any advice on where to start looking would be very much appreciated. I have looked around Amazon and see the prices for DVR's start at approx $100+

TYIA
Your cable or satellite provider will gladly lease you a DVR, but you will not be able to buy one for use on their service. You can purchase a TiVo DVR for use with cable. With the monthly fee, it's about the same price as you would pay your cable company for using their box.