TomTom vs Apple Maps

Discussion in 'iOS 6' started by liberated, Oct 18, 2012.

  1. liberated

    liberated Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    487
    Aside from the recent bad press for Apple Maps, the main reason I favor TomTom "like" maps that contain all maps on board is because Apple maps will eat through your data on long trips. Am I wrong? How much data is consumed by Apple maps?
     
  2. JON35Y

    JON35Y Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    Likes Received:
    7
    A good question, I'm keen to find out aswell.


    Sent from my iPhone 5 using Tapatalk
     
  3. Hinezy

    Hinezy Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Likes Received:
    63
    I remember reading that Apple's maps use drastically less data than comparable maps like google. It had something to do with the fact that they're Vector based maps, although I'm not completely sure what that means. Ha, ha!


    Sent from my 32Gb iPhone 4S using iCafe app
     
  4. liberated

    liberated Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    487
    Nevertheless in a long trip maps need to be continually downloaded using data hence the advantage of having maps on board.
     
  5. Hinezy

    Hinezy Contributor
    Silver

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Likes Received:
    63
    I've had Navigon for Years and it's been great but now that Siri is on Apple Maps I haven't used it since. I'm fortunate to have unlimited data though.
     
  6. Santa

    Santa Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Likes Received:
    115
    It's not just quantity of data. It's also the fact that there's not always an available signal. So if you lose service, you lose your directions.
     
  7. Iloveiphones

    Iloveiphones Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    234
    I believe Kevin went on a 2 hour road trip and it used like 2MB.

    Not sure, though.


    Sent from my iPhone using iCafe app
     
  8. ZR_Yancy

    ZR_Yancy Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Likes Received:
    737
    Apple Maps caches the route so if you lose signal, it will still work, unless you need rerouting.
     
  9. Santa

    Santa Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2009
    Likes Received:
    115
    Well, maybe that's my problem. I always need re-routing. That's why I couldn't use Motion X. It too caches the route, but I always seemed to need mid-trip adjustments.
     

Share This Page