Trouble with Jailbroken iPhone! Please Help!

Discussion in 'iPhone Jailbreak' started by Superman3G, Mar 12, 2013.

  1. Superman3G

    Superman3G New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, Just received a iPhone 3GS that was jailbroken. I plugged it up to charge and it showed the battery screen. AS it was charging it went to the Apple screen then went to a screen that showed a USB plug in to iTunes. So I plugged my phone to the computer and iTunes came up and said your iPhone has to be restored. Should I restore it? What do I do? Is it even Jailbroken? Thanks!
     
  2. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,432
    Moved to iPhone jailbreak.

    Yes, you'll need to restore it. You can jailbreak it with evasi0n after you restore it. Is the phone unlocked for use with a carrier other than the one that it's tied to?
     
  3. Superman3G

    Superman3G New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have the program that jailbreaks it. I bought it offline. Is there a way to tell what carrier it is connected to? Thanks!
     
  4. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,432
    Duplicate threads deleted. Please only start one thread per topic.
     
  5. Superman3G

    Superman3G New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry new and went thread crazy... don't know how this works exactly yet
     
  6. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,432
    You can jailbreak it with evasi0n after you restore it:
    http://evasi0n.com/
     
  7. Superman3G

    Superman3G New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    is it free?
     
  8. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,432
    Are you going to be using AT&T or T-Mobile? Do you know if the phone was unlocked? The seller probably would have said if it was unlocked.
     
  9. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,432
    Yes.
     
  10. Superman3G

    Superman3G New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    Updating now...hope this works! And thanks!
     
  11. Superman3G

    Superman3G New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am going to use it for AT&T sim card... it was sold as an unlocked phone
     
  12. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,432

    Okay. Just put your SIM card in it and restore it in iTunes.
     
  13. Superman3G

    Superman3G New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    What's my next step after that? Was it truly unlocked before I bought it?
     
  14. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,432
    1. The next step is jailbreaking it if you want it jailbroken.
    2. This is information the seller should have given you. Did the seller say if it was an IMEI unlock or a software unlock with the iPad's baseband? If it's an IMEI unlock, it will just restore normally. You can still fix it if has the iPad baseband, but it's more work and it causes errors with the restore.

    If you don't know, just put your SIM card in it and try to restore it in iTunes. Post the iTunes error codes here if you receive any.
     
  15. Superman3G

    Superman3G New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    didn't say...It won't let me download that program you told me that would re-jailbreak my iPhone! Whast do I do?
     
  16. Superman3G

    Superman3G New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got error code (-1)
     
  17. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,432
    Error code -1 indicates that there may be a hardware problem. However, I wouldn't give up on it yet. The iPad baseband was likely used to unlock this iPhone and it causes a variety of problems, including restore errors. For future reference, an IMEI unlock is far superior to software unlock applied after modifying the baseband. IMEI unlocks are permanent, the phone can be activated with any SIM, and they don't cause restore problems. Look for that in the details when and if you ever purchase another iPhone. Personally, I would avoid iPhones that had the iPad baseband because I just wouldn't want to deal with the problems it causes. That being said, they are fixable if you're willing to put in the time and research involved with fixing them. Knowing a little bit about this phone would make the process easier (if it does have the iPad baseband, what carrier it's locked to and if it has any SHSHs on file). Since you are receiving errors when restoring to 6.1.2, I would try putting it in DFU mode and shift+restoring to an older firmware and downgrading the iPad baseband with the latest version of redsn0w. You can only restore to old firmware versions if the previous owner saved the SHSHs for them in Cydia.
    http://www.redmondpie.com/how-to-downgrade-iphone-3gs-3g-06.15.00-to-05.13.04-baseband-for-unlock-and-working-gps/

    http://www.iphonehacks.com/download-redsn0w
     

Share This Page