Unable to authorize App Store purchases using Touch ID

Discussion in 'iPhone 6' started by Alkali, Oct 11, 2014.

  1. Alkali

    Alkali Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2
    Friends,
    I read somewhere that Touch ID works in the application Store but how cause' mine doesn't?
     
  2. tortex73

    tortex73 Contributor
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Likes Received:
    34
    Works just fine.

    Settings > Touch ID & Passcode > iTunes & App Store
     
  3. iErik

    iErik Zealot
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Likes Received:
    72
    Make sure the option is turned on in the settings app under "touch ID and passcode".
     
  4. silvermoon

    silvermoon Evangelist
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2013
    Likes Received:
    179
    You have to enable it and it makes for a more enjoyable experience in the App Store.
     
  5. Alkali

    Alkali Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2
    It's already enabled but does not work.
     
  6. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,450
    Make sure iTunes & App Store is toggled on in Touch ID & Passcode.

    It works less than half of the time for me. This is because I reboot every few days and don't make many purchases. It doesn't work if you have rebooted because it has to have your passcode for that just as you need a passcode to unlock the phone after a reboot.
     
  7. tortex73

    tortex73 Contributor
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Likes Received:
    34
    What happens when you try to make a purchase? Does the pop up notification say Touch ID?
     
  8. Alkali

    Alkali Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2
    It now works. Thanks very much.
     
  9. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,450
    I'm assuming it just asks for his Apple ID password. That's what mine does half the time. The other half it gives me the option to use my fingerprint.
     
  10. Alkali

    Alkali Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Likes Received:
    2
    Exactly.
     
  11. tortex73

    tortex73 Contributor
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Likes Received:
    34
    That's odd, mine works every time. Have you tried disabling Touch ID completely, deleting all your prints, and starting over?
     
  12. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,450
    I've done that twenty or so times since September 2013 and I've restored to factory settings a few times as well. It's the same results each time. It doesn't give me the option after a reboot just as the fingerprint scanner to unlock doesn't work after a reboot. I often reboot more often than I make purchases so mine doesn't work for purchases half the time.
     
  13. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,450
    It's possible that it's a regional limitation if it's never working. It should give you the option at least some of the time like mine does. It all depends on how often you reboot and make purchases.

    You could try the standard troubleshooting: rebooting, hard reset and redoing the fingerprints. Let us know if it still doesn't work.
     
  14. tortex73

    tortex73 Contributor
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Likes Received:
    34
    I make purchases a few times a day (I have a problem) and even after a reboot all I have to do is put my password in the one time and then Touch ID works for me every single time after.
     

Share This Page