Unexplained data drain

Discussion in 'iPhone 5' started by dust lane, Aug 3, 2013.

  1. dust lane

    dust lane New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Likes Received:
    1
    My son and I both have AT&T iPhone 5's and we both got notifications that we are about to go over our data limit of three gigs each. The problem is that no apps are running in the background and we have been on wifi almost exclusively. My other son and my wife have Galaxy S3's and the have used less than have of one gig. And we have been together ever day. Apple says to turn our data off and that will take care of it. Seriously? If that's the case, why not just have a flip phone. Anyone else heard of this?


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  2. liberated

    liberated Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    488
    Two possibilities, 1. A mistake by AT&T 2. Your son or you have an app such as pandora, etc. draining your data and wifi may not be turned on or the app is being used while away from wifi. My guess is your son may be the culprit. (Providing its not #1)
     
  3. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    Hello. I first want to welcome you to the forum.

    Are you positive that none of your applications are running in the background? Although you close the applications, some may still be running in the background. They can be easily removed and fully closed by double tapping on the home button to pull up the applications that are still running.


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  4. Iloveiphones

    Iloveiphones Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    234
    Downloading apps is a biggie, as well. It is possible your wifi is switching off and your using data.
     
  5. dust lane

    dust lane New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Likes Received:
    1
    We have been using iPhones off and on for a long time so I am pretty familiar with how to make sure apps are not running. The phones are both nearly stock with no streaming apps installed. I even completely turned off location services just to be sure. It is just the iPhones that are causing problems. I just had a galaxy s4 and I used less than half of one gig in a month. And I was out of town using data quite a bit.


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  6. MoneyMaker79

    MoneyMaker79 Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Likes Received:
    340
    Have you tried to take your iPhone to your phone company (AT&T or Verizon) to see if they can figure out what may be causing the data drain? You can also find this out by contacting them over the phone and explain your problem/concern.
     
  7. dust lane

    dust lane New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Likes Received:
    1
    I haven't had a chance to get to the store yet. I did check my bill and literally the day we started using iPhones, there was a spike in data usage on both lines. I sure hope there is a fix. I really don't want to go to Android or windows phone or blackberry but I can't afford to pay overages every month.


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  8. Europa

    Europa Moderator
    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Likes Received:
    5,524
    I'd let it go another month. It could just be a fluke. I average 500 or 600 MB data/month and have never exceeded 1.5 GB (even when I'm on vacation without WiFi). Yet a couple months ago, AT&T said I used 3.5 GB in one month. O_o My usage was the same as it always is and I seriously doubt I use anywhere near that much. Right now I'm halfway though a billing cycle and at 148 MB. It just doesn't make any sense that used several GB that month. I think it was an error.
     
  9. Iloveiphones

    Iloveiphones Genius
    Platinum

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Likes Received:
    234
    You can check online the time of data transfers.
     
  10. AdamDaieh

    AdamDaieh Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2013
    Likes Received:
    7
    You can check with your carrier about this concern. Ask them if its possible to provide you details what caused the issue.
    Explain your side to them.
     
  11. EvilSmurf

    EvilSmurf New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am experiencing the EXACT same problem! I am in day 9 of my billing cycle and am 700MG away from my limit of 3072! I have done everything AT&T told me to do, turned ALL data, apps, notifications off and am on Wi-Fi for 85% of the day and even with all that- I'm going through data like crazy! I even went to Apple last night and got my phone replaced and today with everything off, I went through 41MG. No one took accountability. I've done nothing different and yet I'm hemorrhaging data
     
  12. Ledsteplin

    Ledsteplin Genius
    Gold

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Likes Received:
    977
    I get unexplained data usages on one of my 4 phones. Verizon has no clue. It's always on wifi for anything online or whatever uses data. Only calling and texting is done away from wifi. Here's 2 data usages over 200 mb each with no explanation. ImageUploadedByiCafe Forums1387553853.517223.jpg


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  13. Outtahand

    Outtahand New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had the same problem with a iPhone 4S and a 4 on AT&T. When you log into your AT&T account you can look at the details if your data usage, including the exact times of the usage.
    When I had problems, I found the phone was uploading data by itself between midnight and 1:00 AM every night.
    Tried restoring the phone, they replaced the phone, etc. but nothing helped.

    I ended up terminating our contracts and switched to Sprint where I could unlimited data. Now no over-charges!


    Sent using iCafe app
     
  14. Bullgod

    Bullgod Member
    Bronze

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2012
    Likes Received:
    3
    If you're using wifi you can turn off your cellular data.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  15. da.meekster

    da.meekster New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check your data roaming settings and you push notifications.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  16. LITE-WEIGHT

    LITE-WEIGHT New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    Make sure you and your son are actually connected to WiFi. If you see 3G,4G, or LTE at the top of your screen, then you're not on WiFi. You should see 3 little arcs like on my screen.

    Also try turning off notifications.

    And, don't download anything when your off WiFi. It can really stack up.
    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  17. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,530
    Dust Lane hasn't logged on here since September 27, 2013, so he probably won't see this.
     
  18. Merthod

    Merthod New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check connectivity options. Sometimes even though you're in wifi the phone uses the network connection because it's configured that way.
     
  19. LITE-WEIGHT

    LITE-WEIGHT New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're correct Napoleon, but others will see this. Dust Lane isn't the only one with this problem, thanks for your concern though :)




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  20. Napoleon PhoneApart

    Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Likes Received:
    4,530
    It's required of me as a moderator. :)
     

Share This Page