USB cable longer than 40"?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by eye-Fone, Nov 9, 2008.

1. eye-Fone

eye-Fone Zealot
    Gold

Can USB cables longer than what came with the iPhone 3G (40 inches) be used?

2. dturner

dturner Zealot
    Gold

I really don't see why not, but I could be wrong.
    How long are you talking?

3. eye-Fone

eye-Fone Zealot
    Gold

I'm thinking 60-72 inches. I'm afraid that the longer it is, the more resistance will occur, resulting in inferior charging of the battery. I'm not planning on using a longer cable for sync'ing--just for charging.

4. dturner

dturner Zealot
    Gold

I am no expert in this area, but that doesn't seem too long to me. Maybe Dave will see this and comment. He is knowledgeable in this area.

5. psylichon

psylichon Genius

I'm pretty sure it won't work or else you'd see a ton of long sync cables on Ebay.

I connect to my computer in the other room using a long USB cable with a powered hub on my end. That way I can hook up to 7 devices without any power drain. It works great with the iPhone this way.

6. djkeev

djkeev Member
    Bronze

HI,

Just get a USB extension cable, I've got one about 4' long attached to the Apple wire to the USB port and I have no issues that I've noticed at all.
    They make them in various lengths, available at any well stocked computer store.
    I've got a 6 foot extension wire in my car so the ipod or iPhone is in the center console and not on the dash. It has the Apple ipod plug ends, male and female and that too works great.
    They aren't easy to find but google them and you'll find sources.

Dave

7. psylichon

psylichon Genius

That may work, but if nothing else, I would avoid restoring or updating your firmware unless you're connected directly with the stock cable or through a powered hub.

8. djkeev

djkeev Member
    Bronze

There is no "may" about it, experience has shown me that it DOES work. Upgrades, song downloads, charging, whatever.
    Dave

9. dturner

dturner Zealot